Home Formula 2 Sirotkin sets the pace on first GP2 test day of 2016

Sirotkin sets the pace on first GP2 test day of 2016

by Gruz David
Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.

New ART recruit Sergey Sirotkin was quickest on day one of the GP2 pre-season testing at Barcelona.

The Russian, who joined?reigning teams’ champions ART?after being the top rookie of the 2015 field, dominated the morning session alongside Pierre Gasly and Alex Lynn.

The former teammates were less than a tenth behind Sirotkin with Gasly narrowly taking second for his new team Prema.

Racing Engineering duo Norman Nato and Jordan King were fourth and sixth respectively, sandwiching Mitch Evans.

Arthur Pic was seventh, ahead of top rookie Antonio Giovinazzi, Sean Gelael and Nobuharu Matsushita.

Affected by rain, the afternoon session was ran on a drying track.

With constantly improving conditions, it was ex-Ferrari junior?Raffaele Marciello setting the benchmark time, beating Nicholas Latifi by 1.6s.

2015 GP3 runner-up Luca Ghiotto was third, followed by Lynn and Gustav Malja.

King in sixth was more than three seconds behind as the top 10 was completed by Evans, Gasly and Renault junior Oliver Rowland.

The day’s running was interrupted by red flag three times, caused by Nabil Jeffri hitting the barrier, Rowland stopping on track and Malja landing his car in the gravel trap.

Day 1 times
Pos. Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1:29.072 1:44.905
2 Pierre Gasly Prema Racing 1:29.141 1:45.559
3 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:29.171 1:43.909
4 Norman Nato Racing Engineering 1:29.542 1:48.174
5 Mitch Evans Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:29.655 1:45.274
6 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:29.686 1:44.888
7 Arthur Pic Rapax 1:29.737 1:49.035
8 Antonio Giovinazzi Prema Racing 1:29.771 1:46.455
9 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:29.784 1:48.513
10 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:29.934 1:46.675
11 Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:29.967 1:43.758
12 Dan?el De Jong MP Motorsport 1:30.004 1:50.630
13 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:30.072 1:43.500
14 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:30.139 1:48.686
15 Raffele Marciello Russian Time 1:30.289 1:41.863
16 Marvin Kirchhofer Carlin 1:30.317 1:45.986
17 Gustav Malja Rapax 1:30.396 1:44.176
18 William Buller Carlin 1:30.752 1:46.257
19 Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:31.274 1:45.889
20 Philo Paz Armand Trident 1:31.583 1:47.345
21 Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:32.195 1:46.043
22 Nabil Jeffri Arden International 1:32.773 1:47.692