Home Formula 2 Gasly goes quickest on second day of GP2 testing

Gasly goes quickest on second day of GP2 testing

by Gruz David
Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.

Red Bull junior Pierre Gasly topped the timesheets on the second GP2 pre-season testing day at Catalunya.

Although the?Prema driver was narrowly beaten by?Sergey Sirotkin in the morning, Gasly went on to improve the benchmark by further two tenths in the afternoon.

The Russian set his time of 1m27.971s in the early parts of morning practice?and stayed first for the rest of the session, which was once interrupted by Antonio Giovinazzi stopping on track.

He was just a tenth quicker than Gasly, the Frenchman?beating Racing Engineering duo Jordan King and Norman Nato to the spot.

Raffaele Marciello and Mitch Evans ended up fifth and sixth respectively, followed by the Carlin of Rene Binder, who replaced William Buller at the team.

Former GP3 rivals Marvin Kirchhofer and Luca Ghiotto were separated by just 0.011s in eighth and 10th as Artem Markelov took ninth.

Being?one of few drivers able to match their morning pace, Gasly topped the second session by more than a second.

King maintained his strong form to take second, followed by Arthur Pic.

Giovinazzi took fourth, ahead of MP drivers Daniel De Jong and Oliver Rowland.

Binder once again made it to the top 10 in seventh, ahead of Jimmy Eriksson, Gustav Malja and Ghiotto.

After being absent?yesterday, Status kicked off his testing programme with Meindert van Buuren and Sergio Canamasas.

Day 2 times
Pos. Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Pierre Gasly Prema Racing 1:28.084 1:27.703
2 Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1:27.971 1:32.966
3 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:28.093 1:28.779
4 Norman Nato Racing Engineering 1:28.106
5 Raffele Marciello Russian Time 1:28.194 1:33.969
6 Mitch Evans Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:28.403 1:33.700
7 Rene Binder Carlin 1:28.591 1:29.616
8 Arthur Pic Rapax 1:29.717 1:28.827
9 Marvin Kirchhofer Carlin 1:28.862 1:29.991
10 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:28.871 1:30.732
11 Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:28.873 1:29.879
12 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:28.890 1:33.471
13 Dan?el De Jong MP Motorsport 1:28.902 1:29.130
14 Antonio Giovinazzi Prema Racing 1:32.023 1:29.023
15 Sergio Canamasas Status Grand Prix 1:29.103 1:30.063
16 Gustav Malja Rapax 1:29.115 1:29.794
17 Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:29.229 1:29.198
18 Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:29.204 1:29.632
19 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:29.353 1:34.727
20 Philo Paz Armand Trident 1:30.143 1:31.739
21 Nabil Jeffri Arden International 1:30.223 1:30.957
22 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:34.714 1:30.574
23 Meindert van Buuren Status Grand Prix 1:32.077 1:32.700
24 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:33.952 1:34.478