Home Formula 3GB3 Simmons wins, Bearman loses wheel in GB3 race one at Silverstone

Simmons wins, Bearman loses wheel in GB3 race one at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Ayrton Simmons dominated Saturday’s GB3 race on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout after Ollie Bearman retired with a wheel issue.

Bearman started from pole for Fortec, but it was Simmons who led into Copse at the start for Chris Dittmann Racing.

Things got worse for Bearman into Copse next time by, with his rear-left wheel sheering off – ending his race – and several cars having to take avoiding action behind.

Debutant Jonathan Browne was promoted to second for returning team Hillspeed, before the safety car was deployed to recover Bearman’s car.

Simmons pulled away by a second at the restart, while Fortec’s Roberto Faria snatched third from Carlin’s Christian Mansell.

Faria passed Browne for second before the end of the lap, and started to edge closer to Simmons in the latter stages.

But the Brazilian had to settle for second, with Simmons taking his first win since the reversed-grid race at Silverstone in June.

Browne held on to score a podium in his first race in slicks-and-wings racing in third, ahead of Mansell. Frederick Lubin was fifth for Arden ahead of CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley.

Hitech GP’s Bart Horsten ran fifth on the opening lap, but lost two places avoiding Bearman’s slowing car, and dropped to seventh.

Roman Bilinksi made up places to finish eighth for Fortec ahead of Elite Motorsport duo Tom Lebbon and Javier Sagrera.

Points leader Zak O’Sullivan (Carlin) suffered a puncture after contact with Sebastian Alvarez (Hitech), which left the latter with front wing damage and requiring a pitstop. O’Sullivan’s title rival Reece Ushijima also had trouble and finished one position ahead in 14th, but over 41s clear.

Race results (9 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing 20m21.798s
2 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +1.105s
3 Jonathan Browne Hillspeed +5.034s
4 Christian Mansell Carlin +6.000s
5 Frederick Lubin Arden +6.379s
6 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +7.770s
7 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +8.154s
8 Roman Bilinski Arden +8.888s
9 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +9.579s
10 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +10.688s
11 Bryce Aron Carlin +11.805s
12 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +17.304s
13 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +18.169s
14 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +18.435s
15 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +1m00.517s
16 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +1m17.158s
Ret Ollie Bearman Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 1m55.975s

Championship standings
O’Sullivan 353   2 Mansell 269   3 Faria 259   4 Ushijima 238   5 Simmons 234   6 Bilinski 221   7 Alvarez 201   8 Lebbon 200   9 Horsten 200   10 Sagrera 182