Home Featured Shwartzman wins in Prema 1-2-3 at Monza, Peroni escapes huge accident

Shwartzman wins in Prema 1-2-3 at Monza, Peroni escapes huge accident

by Rob Hansford

Photo: Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F3 Championship

Robert Shwartzman triumphed in a Prema 1-2-3 in the first FIA Formula 3 race at Monza to increase his championship lead, as the race ended behind the safety car after Alex Peroni suffered a huge accident at Parabolica.

Shwartzman, who started eighth on the grid after being one of a number of drivers who were given penalties after yesterday’s qualifying session, made his way through the field to take victory ahead of his Prema teammate, and fellow Ferrari Academy Driver, Marcus Armstrong.

It was a chaotic start to the race, with Lirim Zendeli taking the lead from Christian Lundgaard early on, but the pair came together at the Parabolica on lap three, causing Zendeli to retire a lap later, while Lundgaard was forced to pit with a damaged front wing.

That allowed Armstrong to take over the lead, and once Shwartzman passed Richard Verschoor for second place, the Russian hunted down his Prema teammate and overtook him on lap 15.

Armstrong attempted to close back in on Shwartzman but never got the opportunity to try and re-take the lead, as on lap 19 Peroni – who had been running in sixth place – suffered a violent crash when his car was launched into the air by a kerb in the Parabolica run-off.

The car eventually landed on top of the barrier, and the Campos Racing driver walked away from the incident and was taken to the medical centre to be checked over.

With the car situated in such a precarious position, the marshals were unable to remove the car from the track in time, and the race finished under the safety car.

Jehan Daruvala, who had started tenth had a great start to the race, and followed Shwartzman through the field, eventually finishing third to complete a podium lock-out for Prema, which already sealed the teams’ title last time out at Spa.

Yuki Tsunoda ended up fourth ahead of the MP Motorsport car of Verschoor, while Pedro Piquet crossed the line in sixth.

Jake Hughes was seventh, while Liam Lawson, Fabio Scherer and Logan Sargeant rounded out the top ten.

Juri Vips had a race to forget after crashing out on lap eight, after colliding with Keyvan Andres whilst making a move for 15th position.

The Hitech GP driver clipped the back of Andres’ car and ended up hitting the wall at the first chicane, causing him to retire from the race.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 42m46.627s
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.599s
3 Jehan Daruvala Prema +1.391s
4 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +1.923s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +2.372s
6 Pedro Piquet Trident +3.517s
7 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +4.557s
8 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +5.170s
9 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +5.837s
10 Logan Sargeant Carlin +6.830s
11 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +7.206s
12 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +7.473s
13 Teppei Natori Carlin +18.620s
14 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +8.935s
15 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +9.924s
16 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +10.951s
17 Roaul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +11.728s
18 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +13.198s
19 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing +15.523s
20 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +17.850s
21 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +19.367s
22 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +21.148s
23 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +22.067s
Ret Alex Peroni Campos Racing
Ret David Beckmann ART Grand Prix
Ret Juri Vips Hitech GP
Ret Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz
Ret Niko Kari Trident
Ret Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Yifei Ye Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Shwartzman,1:40.020

Championship standings
1 Shwartzman 179? ?2 Daruvala 144? ?3 Armstrong 137? ?4 Vips 122 ? 5 Lundgaard 97? ?6 Piquet 82? ?7 Hughes 62? ?8 Pulcini 61? ?9 Fewtrell 57?10 Tsunoda 49