Home Formula 4British F4 Sharp takes maiden British F4 poles at Croft

Sharp takes maiden British F4 poles at Croft

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Louis Sharp took his first two British Formula 4 pole positions after topping the times at Croft. 

The Rodin Carlin driver set the pace early in the qualifying session and gradually lowered his fastest lap to 1m17.506s. The time put him just 0.116s ahead of James Higgins and 0.210s ahead of championship leader Will Macintyre.  

It was Deagan Fairclough who was top of the order when the red flag was brought out roughly eight minutes into the session. Gabriel Stilp and Jack Sherwood had both run into problems on track, prompting the stoppage. 

Macintyre was second at this point, but had just put in the best first sector of the session and was leading the way on second fastest lap times. 

Times continued to tumble in the second half of the session, with Sharp and Higgins swapping places at the top of the order before Sharp managed his fastest lap of the session. 

Higgins took second ahead of Macintyre and Josh Irfan, who jumped up the order in the closing stages of the session. 

Fairclough dropped to fifth ahead of Dion Gowda and Mika Abrahams, who briefly held third quickest before the late session improvements. 

Patrick Heuzenroeder took eighth ahead of Noah Lisle and Kenato Le, the final driver to lap quicker than 1m18s.  

On second-fastest lap times to set the grid for race one, Sharp once again went quickest, followed by Higgins and Macintyre. 

Kai Daryanani will start from pole for the reversed-grid race two. 

Qualifying round-up

Race 1 grid
1 Louis Sharp Rodin Carlin 1m17.537s
2 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports +0.093s
3 William Macintyre Hitech +0.199s
4 Josh Irfan Rodin Carlin +0.244s
5 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports +0.354s
6 Dion Gowda Rodin Carlin +0.336s
7 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments +0.419s
8 Kanato Le Hitech +0.443s
9 James Piszcyk Hitech +0.481s
10 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti +0.495s

Race 3 grid
1 Sharp 1m17.506s
2 Higgins +0.116s
3 Macintyre +0.210s
4 Irfan +0.252s
5 Fairclough +0.314s
6 Gowda +0.336s
7 Abrahams +0.360s
8 Heuzenroeder +0.385s
9 Noah Lisle Rodin Carlin +0.448s
10 Le +0.464s