Home Z - Archive seriesAuto GP Seven new drivers announced for Auto GP

Seven new drivers announced for Auto GP

by Jonathan Wallcroft

Photo: Auto GP

After weeks of relative inactivity the Auto GP driver lineup has more than doubled in size in two days, after the announcement of Yoshitaka Kuroda with Euronova on Tuesday was followed on Wednesday night with seven further names.

First up with his own Ibiza Racing Team? is 37-year old Italian hotelier??Giuseppe Cipriani, the Gentlemen racer embarking on a third season in the category. Hoping to be at the sharp end of the grid is Ghinzani Arco Motorsport’s first announced driver; GP3 racer Robert Visoiu, coupling this drive with his GP3 commitments with Arden however may cause?the 17-year old Romanian?to run a part season.

MLR71 have announced team owner Michele La Rosa and former GP2 race winner Giacomo Ricci as their driver pair for the forthcoming season with La Rosa entering a second full season as a driver and Ricci continuing with the team he drove with at the finale in ?Sonoma last season.

Former GP2 outfit Super Nova announced Vittorio Ghirelli (moving accross from an unsuccesful year in FR3.5 where he finished 24th scoring five points) and Antonio Spavone who competed with varying success in Auto GP last season with Euronova and Ombra and GP3 with Trident.

The last member of the ‘magnificent seven’ is 25-year old Russian Max Snegirev who will partner already announced Andrea Roda at Virtuosi UK, Snegirev oves accross from Campos after contesting a joint Auto GP and F2 campaign last season.

Series organisers say that 21 cars have been registered for the coming season, even if only 13 drivers have been named ahead of next weekend’s season opener at Monza.

Entry list so far:
Super Nova: Ghirelli/Spavone/TBA
Manor MP: Agostini/Van Buuren/De Jong
Euronova: Sato/Kuroda
Virtuosi: Roda/Snegirev/TBA
Ombra: TBA/TBA
Ibiza: Cipriani/TBA
MLR71: La Rosa/Ricci
Zele Racing: TBA/TBA
Ghinzani: Visoiu/TBA