Home Formula 4British F4 Seewooruthun secures his second British F4 success at Silverstone

Seewooruthun secures his second British F4 success at Silverstone

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Reza Seewooruthun rounded out British Formula 4’s round on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout with his second career victory.

Despite a safety car intervention, Seewooruthun ran without pressure for the majority of the race and finished 1.760 seconds clear of championship-leading Hitech GP team-mate Deagen Fairclough.

Rodin Motorsport’s Alex Ninovic finished third, meaning he trails Fairclough by 29 points at the season’s halfway point.

Seewooruthun and Fairclough both got good launches from the front row, while Rodin’s James Higgins was taken out of the race via a hit from behind after starting third. Kai Daryanani and Nina Pothof went off on the opening lap too, with the latter able to make it to the pits after while Daryanani became stuck in the gravel.

The two incidents prompted the safety car to be called, putting Fairclough back on Seewooruthun’s tail.

Seewooruthun left it late to return to racing speed on the restart. Fairclough was able to stick with him and the two broke away from the rest of the field while Rodin’s Jack Sherwood soaked up pressure from Alex Ninovic for third.

They were later joined in battle by JHR Developments’ Leo Robinson, and Ninovic was just able to squeeze ahead of Sherwood after one side-by-side moment. Robinson then immediately followed him through.

Ninovic could not catch the top two and was almost three seconds behind Fairclough when the race ended after nine laps.

Late on Sherwood found himself leading a train of four drivers. Virtuosi Racing’s Maxwell Dodds, who had been fifth during the early safety car period but fell behind Robinson on the restart, was the first to put pressure on Sherwood but he could not get past. He finished sixth, ahead of JHR’s Ella Lloyd.

Race result (9 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Reza Seewooruthun Hitech GP 21m00.887s
2 Deagen Fairclough Hitech GP +1.760s
3 Alex Ninovic Rodin Motorsport +4.712s
4 Leo Robinson JHR Developments +8.181s
5 Jack Sherwood Rodin Motorsport +11.011s
6 Maxwell Dodds Virtuosi Racing +11.486s
7 Ella Lloyd JHR Developments +12.175s
8 Rowan Campbell-Pilling Argenti Motorsport +12.592s
9 Bart Harrison Chris Dittmann Racing +13.818s
10 Yuanpu Cui Argenti Motorsport +14.665s
11 Joel Bergstrom JHR Developments +14.756s
12 Abbi Pulling Rodin Motorsport +15.061s
13 Matus Ryba Argenti Motorsport +18.034s
14 Mika Abrahams Hitech GP +20.507s
15 Yuhao Fu Virtuosi Racing +21.374s
16 Chloe Chong JHR Developments +22.557s
17 Martin Molnar Virtuosi Racing +22.815s
18 Nina Pothof Fortec Motorsports +23.594s
19 Carrie Shreiner Chris Dittmann Racing +25.263s
20 Zack Scoular Xcel Motorsport +31.045s
21 Alex Berg Fortec Motorsports +36.853s
Ret James Higgins Rodin Motorsport
Ret Kai Daryanani Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Seewooruthun, 2m01.503s

Championship standings
Fairclough 225   Ninovic 196   3 Higgins 133.5   4 Seewooruthun 133   5 Sherwood 118   6 Pulling 92   7 Abrahams 76   Robinson 64   9 Cui 58   10 Lloyd 51