Home Formula 4Italian F4 Italian F4 leader Slater completes Vallelunga hat-trick behind safety car

Italian F4 leader Slater completes Vallelunga hat-trick behind safety car

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Freddie Slater made it three Italian Formula 4 wins out of three at Vallelunga to grow his championship lead to 38 points.

His team-mate Alex Powell started on pole, but a slow getaway meant Slater was immediately past. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Hiyu Yamakoshi attempted to make it a three-wide fight for the lead at turn seven, but that instead led to him being pressured by US Racing’s Jack Beeton.

However Beeton then had an off and fell behind team-mate Matheus Ferreira, and lap one ended with small gaps between the top five. AKM Motorsport’s Alexander Savinkov pitted with damage, and VAR’s Alvise Rodella did the same on lap two.

US’s Akshay Bohra and Gianmarco Pradel, VAR’s Gustav Jonsson and Prema duo Kean Nakamura Berta and Rashid Al Dhaheri completed the top 10 early on, with Nakamura gaining a spot on lap three.

Slater was 1.1s up the road when the safety car was called out on lap four due to VAR’s Lin Hodenius and AKM’s Emanuele Olivieri colliding and retiring in the gravel. Jenzer Motorsport’s Ethan Ischer then pulled off at the turn 12 hairpin with damage on lap six, but a restart still took place the lap after.

There was battled for fourth and sixth place after green flags waved, but the safety car had returned before the end of lap seven and the next restart did not take place until lap 11.

Yamakoshi tried passing Powell (who for the second race in a row got a black-and-white warning flag) around the outside of turn seven for second place, and that allowed Slater to create 1.17s gap before the safety car was summoned once again on the next lap due to an out-of-contol Everett Stack (PHM Racing) wiping out Kabir Anurag (US) at turn 12.

Stack was able to continue in the race, but Anurag’s car was abandoned and it led to four more laps of safety car running that took the field all the way to the chequered flag. Al Dhaheri passed Jonsson for ninth before the race was neutralised for a final time.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Freddie Slater Prema 34m04.568s
2 Alex Powell Prema +0.278s
3 Hiyu Yamakoshi Van Amersfoort Racing +0.508s
4 Matheus Ferreira US Racing +0.691s
5 Jack Beeton US Racing +0.893s
6 Akshay Bohra US Racing +1.116s
7 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing +1.312s
8 Kean Nakamura Berta Prema +1.601s
9 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema +1.970s
10 Gustav Jonsson Van Amersfoort Racing +2.130s
11 Davide Larini PHM Racing +2.333s
12 Tomass Stolcermanis Prema +3.124s
13 Enea Frey Jenzer Motorsport +3.451s
14 Dion Gowda Prema +3.602s
15 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing +3.863s
16 Maxi Rehm US Racing +5.043s
17 Reno Francot Jenzer Motorsport +5.193s
18 Shimo Zhang Jenzer Motorsport +6.392s
19 Andrej Petrovic PHM Racing +7.840s
20 Enzo Yeh R-ace GP +8.181s
21 Andrija Kostic Van Amesfoort Racing +8.643s
22 Luka Sammalisto R-ace GP +8.789s
23 Luca Viisoreanu Real Racing Team +9.527s
24 Wiktor Dobrzanski Cram Motorsport +10.098s
25 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +10.391s
26 Edu Robinson AS Motorsport +10.871s
27 Alvise Rodella Van Amersfoort Racing +11.368s
28 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing +12.646s
29 Alexander Savinkov AKM Motorsport +12.869s
30 Gabriel Holguin Maffi Racing +13.924s
31 Everett Stack PHM Racing +15.386s
32 Nathanael Berreby Maffi Racing +4 laps
33 Kabir Anurag US Racing +5 laps
Ret Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Emanuele Olivieri AKM Motorsport
Ret Lin Hodenius Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Slater, 1m34.978s

Championship standings
1 Slater 165   2 Yamakoshi 127   3 Powell 102   4 Bohra 93   5 Beeton 68   6 Stolcermanis 48   7 Al Dhaheri 45   8 Gowda 41   9 Nakamura 41   10 Pradel 37