Home Formula 3Euroformula Sebastian Estner lowers the pace in Euroformula FP2 at Mugello

Sebastian Estner lowers the pace in Euroformula FP2 at Mugello

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Sebastian Estner set a provisional track record 1m36.971s lap in the second Euroformula free practice session at Mugello.

The Italian circuit is part of the series calendar for the first time, and Friday’s two practice sessions were the first time the drivers saw the track.

There was an improvement of around half a second between FP1 and FP2, with Estner putting in two late flying laps to break the 1m37s barrier for the first time with his session-topping effort.

That put him ahead of single-seater returnee Ben Barnicoat, who has joined Carlin’s line-up for this weekend to aid its knowledge building of the new Dallara 320 car that series uses.

CryptoTower Racing Team’s Lukas Dunner, winner of the last two races, was third fastest and just 0.001s ahead of Motopark’s Niklas Krutten.

Dunner’s points-leading team-mate Yifei Ye only improved on his session-topping FP1 lap by 0.094s and ended up fifth fastest.

Barnicoat’s team-mates Ido Cohen and Zane Maloney looked like they were already benefitting from Barnicoat’s presence, but they didn’t improve at the very end of free practice and ended up sixth and seventh fastest, with Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado recovering from a tricky FP1 to be 0.001s behind Maloney in eighth.

Drivex School’s Glenn van Berlo topped the times before many drivers set personal bests in the final two minutes, and he ended up being shuffled down to ninth and almost three quarters of a second off the pace.

Propping up the 13-car order, as Double R Racing’s Ayrton Simmons was absent due to budget issues, was Motopark’s Cameron Das. The American only recorded four flying laps, and was over three seconds slower than Estner as a result.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.971s 16
2 Ben Barnicoat Carlin 1m37.127s +0.156s 16
3 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m37.272s +0.301s 19
4 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m37.273s +0.302s 18
5 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m37.389s +0.418s 17
6 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m37.513s +0.542s 13
7 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m37.605s +0.634s 15
8 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m37.606s +0.635s 19
9 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m37.694s +0.723s 17
10 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.985s +1.014s 15
11 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m38.296s +1.325s 16
12 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.302s +1.331s 18
13 Cameron Das Motopark 1m40.262s +3.291s 4