Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy’s sixth FREC win comes at Zandvoort ahead of Colapinto

Saucy’s sixth FREC win comes at Zandvoort ahead of Colapinto

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Gregoire Saucy took his sixth Formula Regional European Championship win in race two at Zandvoort, heading Franco Colapinto.

MP Motorsport driver Colapinto passed Saucy’s ART Grand Prix team-mate Gabriele Mini around the outside of the opening corner to move into second place on lap one, and after trying to ensure Mini didn’t get past in the opening laps he then set about chasing the leader.

However Saucy always had pace in hand, and any time Colapinto took a few tenths of a second out of his lead he responded and crossed the finish line with a second in hand after 21 laps.

Mini was a lonely third, while an early pass on Van Amersfoort Racing’s Francesco Pizzi earned Arden driver William Alatalo fourth place.

Pizzi had MP’s Kas Haverkort and Prema’s Paul Aron behind him for the rest of the race, and did a strong defensive job to stay in fifth. Haverkort’s own defences got a little rough on one occassion, as it led to Aron going into the turn one gravel. He emerged unscathed and still in seventh place, and by finishing there he moves up to third in the points.

Similarly in eighth, R-ace GP’s Zane Maloney had to work all race to hold off VAR’s Mari Boya and MP’s Oliver Goethe.

Outside of the points was Maloney’s team-mates, with Hadrien David finishing 14th and now lying 64 points behind Saucy but still his closest rival in the championship standings. There was also an entertaining battle for 18th between FA Racing duo Andrea Rosso and Gabriel Bortoleto who squabbled with Prema’s Dino Beganovic.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 21 laps
2 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.023s
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +6.752s
4 William Alatalo Arden +10.793s
5 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +19.612s
6 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +20.147s
7 Paul Aron Prema +20.773s
8 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +25.672s
9 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +26.334s
10 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +27.042s
11 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +27.891s
12 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +28.494s
13 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +28.913s
14 Hadrien David R-ace GP +29.410s
15 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +29.827s
16 David Vidales Prema +30.328s
17 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +31.190s
18 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +31.599s
19 Dino Beganovic Prema +32.800s
20 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +36.099s
21 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +36.728s
22 Brad Benavides +37.711s
23 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +43.997s
24 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +45.771s
25 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +48.183s
26 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +50.420s
27 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +51.038s
28 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +51.420s
29 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +53.086s
30 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +1m02.228s
31 Alex Quinn Arden
Fastest lap: Saucy, 1m32.145s

Championship standings
Saucy 160   2 David 96   3 Aron 94   4 Hadjar 93   5 Maloney 91   6 Mini 89   7 Quinn 79   8 Alatalo 70   9 Vidales 52   10 Pasma 45