Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy flies to sixth FREC pole at Zandvoort

Saucy flies to sixth FREC pole at Zandvoort

by Craig Woollard

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy stormed to a convincing pole position for the first Formula Regional European Championship race at Zandvoort.

The 20-minute session was held on a slightly damp circuit after wet-dry running in the run-up to the event.

Times tumbled throughout the session, but Saucy found himself towards the top of the order throughout.

His final effort, a 1m30.973s, put him on provisional pole by 0.402 seconds ahead of team-mate Gabriele Mini before a red flag concluded the session early.

FA Racing’s Andrea Rosso ran wide at the penultimate corner, shattering his front wing and parking up shortly after.

With the track running already delayed this weekend, with this session starting 15 minutes after it was scheduled to, the decision was made to not pause the clock in the event of a red flag.

This left Saucy on pole ahead of Mini, while R-ace GP’s Hadrien David rounded out the top three. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya put in a late effort to take fourth, ahead of Prema’s Dino Beganovic.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto looks to finally get his season properly going by taking sixth, ahead of Prema’s Paul Aron.

R-ace’s Isack Hadjar, G4 Racing’s Michael Belov and Arden’s Alex Quinn rounded out the top 10. Belov spent a large part of the first half of the session not setting representative laptimes or in the pits, and therefore set fewer laps than his rivals.

Rosso ended up 24th after his off, while Monolite Racing’s Jasin Ferati failed to take to the circuit after taking part in the tests in the run-up to the event and G4’s Belen Garcia was absent due to chassis damage.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m30.973s 10
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m31.375s +0.402s 10
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m31.683s +0.711s 10
4 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.707s +0.734s 10
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.809s +0.835s 10
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m31.811s +0.837s 10
7 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.854s +0.880s 8
8 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m31.879s +0.905s 10
9 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m31.904s +0.931s 7
10 Alex Quinn Arden 1m31.947s +0.974s 9
11 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.951s +0.978s 10
12 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m31.961s +0.988s 10
13 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m32.135s +1.162s 10
14 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m32.162s +1.189s 10
15 William Alatalo Arden 1m32.172s +1.199s 10
16 David Vidales Prema 1m32.222s +1.249s 10
17 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m32.251s +1.278s 10
18 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m32.255s +1.282s 10
19 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix 1m32.267s +1.294s 10
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.319s +1.345s 10
21 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m32.339s +1.365s 10
22 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m32.383s +1.410s 9
23 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m32.613s +1.640s 10
24 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m32.865s +1.892s 8
25 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m32.900s +1.927s 10
26 Brad Benavides DR Formula 1m33.120s +2.147s 10
27 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m33.236s +2.263s 10
28 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m33.257s +2.284s 10
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m33.519s +2.546s 9
30 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m33.692s +2.719s 10
31 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m34.358s +3.385s 10
32 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m34.636s +3.663s 7
33 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing no time 0