Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Joey Foster dominates National FF1600 qualifying at Silverstone

Joey Foster dominates National FF1600 qualifying at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Joey Foster took pole for the opening BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race of the weekend after setting a blistering pace at a damp Silverstone National circuit.

The Don Hardman Racing driver, a three-time winner of the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, lapped over 0.4 seconds clear of the field to secure pole for Saturday’s first race.

Rory Smith briefly led the way for B-M Racing at the beginning of the session before David Leslie Trophy winner Chris Middlehurst went fastest for Team Dolan.

Max Esterson then lowered the benchmark by more than one second for Low Dempsey Racing, ahead of Smith, who improved on his earlier effort.

The American continued to improve throughout the session to stay on top, with Foster moving into second, just 0.048s adrift.

In the closing minutes, Foster found another half a second to beat Esterson, and then improved further with a time of 1m05.374s which proved unbeatable.

Smith pipped Esterson to second place by 0.070s, with Middlehurst ending the session in fourth, over 0.6s off the pole time.

Thomas Mills was fifth for Kevin Mills Racing, ahead of team-mates Alex Walker and Lukas Romanek.

Carter Williams was eighth fastest for Oldfield Motorsport, ahead of LDR’s Colin Queen and B-M’s Jamie Sharp.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing 1m05.374s
2 Rory Smith B-M Racing +0.409s
3 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +0.479s
4 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +0.666s
5 Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing +0.741s
6 Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing +0.770s
7 Lucas Romanek Kevin Mills Racing +0.789s
8 Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport +0.899s
9 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +0.920s
10 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +0.924s
11 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +1.332s
12 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +1.544s
13 Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing +1.950s
14 Ben Tinkler +2.006s
15 Jamie Vinall-Meyer Oldfield Motorsport +2.742s
16 Benjamin Cochran Team Dolan +4.062s