Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy finishes Barcelona FREC test on top for ART Grand Prix

Saucy finishes Barcelona FREC test on top for ART Grand Prix

by Formula Scout

Photo: FRECA

Gregoire Saucy turned the tables on Patrik Pasma on the second and final day of the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine test at Barcelona.

All but two of the 30 drivers set their best time of the test during the Friday morning session. After pipping Saucy to record Thursday’s best time, KIC Motorsport man Pasma also set the initial pace and held top spot for much of the first hour.

Francesco Pizzi of Van Amersfoort Racing and Prema’s Paul Aron took brief turns on top before ART Grand Prix driver Saucy recorded his time of 1m40.208s around 80 minutes in.

As temperatures rose, Saucy’s time went unbeaten, although Pasma did close to within 0.056 seconds halfway through the four-hour session.¬†Aron’s best remained good enough for third ahead of Arden’s Alex Quinn.

Isack Hadjar was fifth for R-ace GP, while all three MP Motorsport drivers made the top 10: Kas Haverkort was sixth, Franco Colapinto eighth and Oliver Goethe ninth, with William Alatalo seventh for Arden and Pizzi taking 10th.

R-ace GP were the most active team at the top of the timesheets in the afternoon, holding a firm grip on top spot from 40 minutes onwards. Hadjar traded first place with his team-mates Hadrien David and Zane Maloney before setting the session’s best time of 1m41.099 inside the final 15 minutes.

Saucy moved up to second late on, with Aron once again third in front of Prema team-mate Dino Beganovic. Andrea Rosso rounded out the top five in his FA Racing entry.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m40.208s 71
2 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m40.264s +0.056s 51
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m40.324s +0.116s 64
4 Alex Quinn Arden 1m40.368s +0.160s 43
5 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m40.371s +0.163s 52
6 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m40.387s +0.179s 58
7 William Alatalo Arden 1m40.460s +0.252s 53
8 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m40.502s +0.294s 62
9 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m40.524s +0.316s 62
10 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.539s +0.331s 56
11 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m40.650s +0.442s 58
12 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m40.703s +0.495s 52
13 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m40.751s +0.543s 68
14 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix 1m40.763s +0.555s 65
15 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.838s +0.630s 76
16 David Vidales Prema 1m40.844s +0.636s 51
17 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m40.888s +0.680s 49
18 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m40.920s +0.712s 77
19 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m40.930s +0.722s 48
20 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m40.932s +0.724s 60
21 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m41.049s +0.841s 49
22 Mari Boya FA Racing by MP 1m41.285s +1.077s 52
23 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m41.504s +1.296s 44
24 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m41.518s +1.310s 66
25 Gabriel Bortoleto DR Formula 1m41.603s +1.395s 65
26 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m41.769s +1.561s 54
27 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m42.202s +1.994s 62
28 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m42.273s +2.065s 66
29 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing 1m42.301s +2.093s 73
30 Brad Benavides DR Formula 1m42.359s +2.151s 49
31 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m42.471s +2.263s 72
32 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m43.172s +2.964s 71