Home Featured Saucy dominates second FREC qualifying at Barcelona

Saucy dominates second FREC qualifying at Barcelona

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FRECA

Gregorie Saucy picked up his third consecutive Formula Regional European Championship pole with a dominant performance in the second qualifying session of the weekend at Barcelona.

Saucy was more than 0.4 seconds quicker than the rest of the field, with only two other drivers managing to get within half a second of the ART Grand Prix driver.

Alex Quinn set the pace in the opening stages of the session, but Saucy’s first competitive lap immediately put him on provisional pole. The 1m40.635s lap time was seven tenths quicker than the next best time.

His team-mate Gabriele Mini soon cut the gap to just 0.446s, but didn’t have enough to challenge Saucy for pole.

Prema’s Paul Aron briefly jumped up to third before Quinn’s final flying lap put him on the front row of the grid. The Arden driver was 0.438s slower than Saucy, but nobody else could get closer to the points leader.

Aron qualified fourth, ahead of MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto and R-ace GP’s late improver Isack Hadjar.

Thomas Ten Brinke will start race two from seventh in the third of ART GP’s cars, ahead of R-ace’s Hadrien David who had the issues that compounded him in Q1 fixed.

After a difficult Q1, Prema’s David Vidales managed to break into the top 10. He was running near the top of the order early in the session, but had dropped back to 10th by the chequered flag. He starts alongside KIC Motorsport’s Patrick Pasma.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m40.635s
2 Alex Quinn Arden +0.438s
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +0.446s
4 Paul Aron Prema +0.671s
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +0.736s
6 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +0.791s
7 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +0.800s
8 Hadrien David R-ace GP +0.913s
9 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +0.945s
10 David Vidales Prema +0.952s
11 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.968s
12 William Alatalo Arden +1.067s
13 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +1.076s
14 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +1.178s
15 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +1.189s
16 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +1.195s
17 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +1.354s
18 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +1.356s
19 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +1.442s
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +1.474s
21 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +1.631s
22 Brad Benavides DR Formula +1.687s
23 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +1.708s
24 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +1.743s
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +1.785s
26 Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing +1.841s
27 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +1.853s
28 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +2.057s
29 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing +2.162s
30 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +2.325s
31 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +2.342s
32 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +2.434s
33 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +2.683s
34 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +2.907s