Home Formula 4Italian F4 Sauber karter Zachary David tops Italian F4 practice at Red Bull Ring

Sauber karter Zachary David tops Italian F4 practice at Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Sauber karter Zachary David was fastet for US Racing on a wet free practice day at the Red Bull Ring for the Italian Formula 4 championship.

A capacity 40-car enty list has turned up to Austria this weekend, with a fourth race added to the schedule due to a grid size limit. Both of the 40-minute practice sessions were declared wet, and meant drivers spent most of their time in the pits.

Prema’s points leader Andrea Kimi Antonelli laid down the early benchmark to beat, improving on each of his first three laps to keep himself in first place all the way through until the final seven minutes of FP1 when BWR Motorsports’ Taylor Barnard – who had matched Antonelli’s early 1m46.782s effort – set a 1m46.253s lap.

Iron Lynx’s Maya Weug jumped up to second place at the same time, but a minute later both were demoted by US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka who posted a 1m46.141s.

Barnard’s next lap brought the pace down into the 1m45s, and US’s Alex Dunne then bettered Barnard with three-and-a-half minutes to go. Sztuka returned to first place though as he crossed the line, setting a 1m45.481s to put him 0.064 seconds ahead.

Antonelli, who had been been shuffled down to seventh, then jumped back up to the top with a 1m45.323s lap that was not beaten by anyone else before red flags were waved with 40s to go.

The Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior also started FP2 by immediately going fastest, and was only bettered by David and Sztuka before conditions worsened, there was a red flag stoppage and the track got slower.

Niko Lacorte, driving for the Iron Lynx-supported Cetilar Racing team, and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad were 11th and 12th fastest ahead of their F4 debuts.

Alfio Spina has moved from BWR Motorsports to BVM Racing for this weekend,

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Zachary David US Racing 1m32.481s 25
2 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m32.529s +0.048s 31
3 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m32.549s +0.068s 29
4 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m32.686s +0.205s 31
5 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m32.731s +0.250s 32
6 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.885s +0.404s 33
7 James Wharton Prema 1m32.907s +0.426s 29
8 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m33.083s +0.602s 30
9 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m33.183s +0.702s 26
10 Rafael Camara Prema 1m33.191s +0.710s 31
11 Niko Lacorte Cetilar Racing w/ Iron Lynx 1m33.365s +0.884s 30
12 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.373s +0.892s 29
13 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m33.402s +0.921s 30
14 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m33.434s +0.953s 24
15 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m33.505s +1.024s 31
16 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.509s +1.028s 30
17 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m33.517s +1.036s 27
18 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m33.534s +1.053s 20
19 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m33.549s +1.068s 30
20 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m33.596s +1.115s 25
21 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.624s +1.143s 23
22 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m33.676s +1.195s 32
23 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.733s +1.252s 27
24 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m33.739s +1.258s 32
25 Adam Fitzgerald R-ace GP 1m33.899s +1.418s 31
26 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m33.902s +1.421s 32
27 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.180s +1.699s 30
28 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport 1m34.210s +1.729s 26
29 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m34.243s +1.762s 18
30 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m34.248s +1.767s 31
31 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.252s +1.771s 34
32 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m34.329s +1.848s 31
33 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.482s +2.001s 30
34 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m34.712s +2.331s 32
35 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m35.241s +2.760s 29
36 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m35.344s +2.863s 29
37 Francisco Soldavini Maffi Racing 1m35.389s +2.908s 24
38 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m35.928s +3.447s 22
39 Andrea Fassineti Cars Racing 1m36.915s +4.434s 23
40 Giovianni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m37.508s +5.027s 25