Home Z - Archive seriesAuto GP Sato storms away to race victory at the N?rburgring

Sato storms away to race victory at the N?rburgring

by Gruz David

Photo: Auto GP

Japanese racer Kimiya Sato?increased his lead in the Auto GP championship as he ran away with his fourth win of the season in an eventful race at the Nurburgring.

As the second race follows a reverse-grid format, Roberto La Rocca started from pole, with Robert Visoiu alongside on he front row.

The start saw La Rocca keep the lead, while Visoiu outbraked himself into turn one, leading to a collision with Tamas Pal Kiss. The incident involved Narain Karthikeyan and Kevin Giovesi as well, sending the drivers four to the back of the field.

After coming out on top in several wheel-to-wheel scraps, it was Sato who collected the very important race victory, establishing an eight-second gap by the end of the race. Vittorio Ghirelli took another second place – his fifth such result this year. In third, Daniel de Jong achieved his second podium this year.

Despite leading the race during the early stages,?Sergio Campana ended up in fourth, with Karthikeyan and Kiss salvaging as many points as they could in fifth and sixth respectively.

The duo of newcomers – La Rocca and Michela Cerruti? were seventh and eighth. The top ten was rounded out by Andrea Roda and Kevin Giovesi, who lost many positions with a slow pit stop.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Kimiya Sato Euronova Racing 31:43.113
2 Vittorio Ghirelli Super Nova International +8.585
3 Daniel de Jong Manor MP Motorsport +9.449
4 Sergio Campana Ibiza Racing Team +13.450
5 Narain Karthikeyan Super Nova International +17.490
6 Tamas Pal Kiss Ibiza Racing Team +20.326
7 Roberto La Rocca Virtuosi UK +21.578
8 Michela Cerruti MLR71 +22.198
9 Andrea Roda Virtuosi UK +23.100
10 Kevin Giovesi Ghinzazni Motorsport +40.190
11 Michele La Rosa MLR71 +49.063
12 Robert Visoiu Ghinzazni Motorsport +57.055
13 Max Snegirev Virtuosi UK +1:06.482
Not classified
Yoshitaka Kuroda Euronova Racing +23 Laps