Home Formula 3GB3 Sasakorn Chaimongkol takes maiden BRDC British F3 win at Silverstone

Sasakorn Chaimongkol takes maiden BRDC British F3 win at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield
Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Sasakorn Chaimongkol claimed a maiden BRDC British F3 victory after fending off Kiern Jewiss in the first race of the weekend at Silverstone.

The Hillspeed driver led for all 10 laps having moved ahead of polesitter Jewiss at the start from second on the grid.

Jewiss, who took his first British F3 victory at the previous round at Brands Hatch, remained within one second of Chaimongkol for most of the race but, despite closing the gap to under half a second with two laps remaining, finished 0.824s behind the Thai driver in second.

Fortec?s Johnathan Hoggard finished a further half a second behind in third to take the final spot on the podium, having passed Ayrton Simmons on the opening lap, and closes the points gap to championship leader Clement Novalak, who could only finish seventh.

Friday testing pacesetter Neil Verhagen finished fourth on the road, but a 10s time penalty for a jump start dropped the Double R Racing driver to 10th.

Chris Dittmann Racing?s Simmons, who lost three places on the opening lap from third on the grid, recovered to finish fourth after passing Ulysse De Pauw at the halfway stage.

Douglas Motorsport?s De Pauw took sixth ahead of Carlin drivers Kaylen Frederick and Novalak.

Lucas Petersson finished eighth for Carlin, with Double R Racing?s Hampus Ericsson taking ninth.

Benjamin Pedersen of Douglas Motorsport was an early retirement, while?Fortec?s Manuel Maldonado pitted before rejoining and posting the fastest lap.


Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed 19m32.698s
2 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +0.824s
3 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +1.365s
4 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +4.565s
5 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +5.623s
6 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +6.113s
7 Clement Novalak Carlin +7.239s
8 Lucas Petersson Carlin +8.439s
9 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +13.707s
10 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +14.434s
11 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +14.813s
12 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +15.307s
13 Nico Varrone Hillspeed +16.699s
14 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +19.791s
15 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +27.411s
16 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +1m53.922s
DNF Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport
Fastest lap: Maldonado, 1m56.360s
Championship standings

1 Novalak 421? ?2 Hoggard 390???3 Simmons 346? ?4 Jewiss 316? ?5 De Pauw 271? ?6 Verhagen 270? ?7 Maldonado 258? ?8 Frederick 253? ?9 Chaimongkol 239? ?10 Ericsson 237