Home Featured Sargeant resists Vesti to take Spa FIA F3 race two win

Sargeant resists Vesti to take Spa FIA F3 race two win

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema Racing’s Logan Sargeant beat team-mate Frederik Vesti to take victory in Sunday’s FIA Formula 3 Championship race at Spa-Francorchamps and reclaim the points lead.

Sargeant started third after engine issues in Saturday’s race that dropped him down the order.

MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor began the 17-lap race from pole and got a good start. Hitech’s Liam Lawson started alongside but didn’t get a good launch and dropped down to fifth.

Sargeant challenged Verschoor at Les Combes on the opening lap but was forced onto the escape road. A couple of laps later, he was able to make the move stick.

Meanwhile, Vesti worked his way past Trident’s Olli Caldwell for third and was followed through by ART Grand Prix driver Theo Pourchaire.

Shortly before a virtual safety car for a crash involving Hitech debutant Pierre-Louis Chovet, Vesti worked his way past Verschoor who was struggling with straight-line speed.

Once racing resumed, the gap at the front was two seconds, and Vesti started to whittle it down. He closed the gap down to under a second at the end, but Sargeant held on to take his first Sunday race win in FIA F3.

Meanwhile, the battle over the final podium spot was frantic, with Pourchaire initially getting past Verschoor, before Lawson was able to recover back to round out the podium.

Alexander Smolyar followed Lawson past team-mate Pourchaire with a great move around the outside of Rivage to take fourth. Pourchaire dropped off late on but was awarded fifth after Piastri’s penalty. The former championship leader was classified sixth, ahead of Verschoor, and is now seven points behind Sargeant with two rounds remaining.

Saturday race winner Lirim Zendeli, his Trident team-mate David Beckmann and ART’s Sebastian Fernandez rounded out the top 10.

After starting fourth, Caldwell slipped back through the order and was involved in a collision with Campos’s Alex Peroni which will be investigated after the race.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Logan Sargeant Prema 37m52.233s
2 Frederik Vesti Prema +0.801s
3 Liam Lawson Hitech GP +8.736s
4 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +9.480s
5 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +13.401s
6 Oscar Piastri Prema +11.157s
7 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +17.158s
8 Lirim Zendeli Trident +23.413s
9 David Beckmann Trident +24.882s
10 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +25.545s
11 Olli Caldwell Trident +27.665s
12 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +31.429s
13 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +32.455s
14 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +37.859s
15 Clement Novalak Carlin +38.940s
16 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport +41.046s
17 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +43.725s
18 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +45.888s
19 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +47.025s
20 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +51.410s
21 Andreas Estner Campos Racing +51.647s
22 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +51.892s
23 Cameron Das Carlin +56.516s
24 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +57.484s
25 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +1m16.355s
26 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +1m24.425s
27 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System +1 lap
Ret Michael Belov Charouz Racing System
Ret Pierre-Louis Chovet Hitech GP
Ret Jack Doohan HWA Racelab
Fastest lap: Sargeant, 2m06.865s

Championship standings
1 Sargeant 152   2 Piastri 145   3 Beckmann 111.5   4 Lawson 111   5 Pourchaire 106   6 Vesti 90.5   7 Zendeli 72   8 Hughes 63.5   9 Verschoor 62   10 Peroni 58