Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Santiago Ramos leads the way in FREC free practice in Hungary

Santiago Ramos leads the way in FREC free practice in Hungary

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Race Performance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos was fastest in Formula Regional European Championship practice at the Hungaroring.

After sweltering surface temperatures for pre-event testing on Thursday, there was cloud cover on Friday morning that kept the track cool for FP1.

R-P-M was the team to beat, as Adam Fitzgerald was first to set a representative laptime almost 10 minutes into running. His 1m42.189s benchmakrk was beaten a minute later by ART Grand Prix duo Laurens van Hoepen and Charlie Wurz, then G4 Racing’s Michael Belov set a 1m41.489s to go to the top.

Maceo Capietto returned R-P-M to first place by breaking into the 1m40s, and held first place for over a quarter of the 50-minute session before Prema’s Lorenzo Fluxa posted a 1m39.861s.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was next to the top after that, going 0.473s faster, before most of the 34-car field headed to the pits.

Capietto stayed out and eventually closed the gap to Haverkort down to 0.289s, while Trident’s Owen Tangavelou rose to fourth place.

Ramos set the session’s fastest lap with eight minutes left on the clock, going 0.214s clear. Capietto’s next lap reduced Ramos’s advantage slightly to 0.206s, then in the final two minutes there was a flurry of improvements but also lap deletions due to track limits abuse.

That meant the top 10 was constantly changing, at least behind Ramos, and he finished the session with 0.022s in hand over VAR’s Joshua Dufek. Capietto and Haverkort were third and fourth, Prema’s Rafael Camara jumped up to fifth, and Tangavelou and Sami Meguetounif were shuffled down to sixth and seventh.

Martinius Stenshorne was less than a third of a second off the pace in eighth, and 0.991s covered the top 22.

The sun came out for FP2, which raised the track temperature and meant that although drivers were quicker to get on the pace, only five of them bettered their FP1 pace.

Capietto was fastest at first, then Meguetounif. Van Hoepen brought the pace into the 1m41s after 11 minutes, but was quickly shuffled down to fifth before Alex Partyshev brought out red flags.

When action resumed, MP Motorsport’s Victor Bernier and Bilinski broke into the 1m40s. Stenshorne split them with a 1m40.742s effort, and a minute later Belov went third fastest.

There were scarce improvements in the next 10 minutes, before everyone went searching for the limit with eight minutes to go.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli and Esteban Masson went one-two, then Tangavelou was second, only for Bilinski to immediately beat him and then for Bohra to take the position.

A minute later Bernier returned to the top and Haverkort rose to second, and he found more pace to go fastest with three minutes to go. Bernier responded by lapping in the 1m39s, as Dufek rose to third, then Bernier went faster again after the chequered flag to beat his FP1 pace.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m39.174s 35
2 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.196s +0.022s 41
3 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 1m39.380s +0.206s 38
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.388s +0.214s 27
5 Rafael Camara Prema 1m39.422s +0.248s 41
6 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m39.461s +0.287s 41
7 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m39.484s +0.310s 36
8 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m39.503s +0.329s 41
9 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m39.530s +0.356s 39
10 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m39.667s +0.493s 38
11 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m39.685s +0.511s 41
12 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m39.765s +0.591s 40
13 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing 1m39.828s +0.654s 39
14 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m39.875s +0.701s 43
15 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m39.901s +0.727s 39
16 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m39.937s +0.763s 39
17 Levente Revesz Arden 1m39.999s +0.825s 37
18 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 1m40.000s +0.826s 42
19 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m40.066s +0.892s 40
20 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m40.114s +0.940s 40
21 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M 1m40.153s +0.979s 35
22 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m40.165s +0.991s 43
23 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m40.171s +0.997s 39
24 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m40.196s +1.022s 37
25 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m40.277s +1.103s 36
26 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m40.288s +1.114s 35
27 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix 1m40.411s +1.237s 39
28 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m40.550s +1.376s 39
29 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.741s +1.567s 38
30 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 1m41.063s +1.889s 34
31 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing 1m41.159s +1.985s 37
32 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 1m41.189s +2.015s 40
33 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 1m41.205s +2.031s 35
34 Alex Partyshev KIC Motorsport 1m41.595s +2.421s 25
35 Shannon Lugassy KIC Motorsport no time 0