Home Formula 4French F4 Sacha Fenestraz claims first win in reverse-grid Ledenon race

Sacha Fenestraz claims first win in reverse-grid Ledenon race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Eric Vargiolu / DPPI

Photo: Eric Vargiolu / DPPI

Sacha Fenestraz became the second French F4 rookie to claim a win in the season opener at Ledenon.

Fenestraz, who went from 15th to eighth in race one, made the most out of his third place on the grid to mark his first weekend in cars with a victory.

Poleman Alexey Korneev kept the lead off the start but the first stretch of green flag racing did not last very long, interrupted by a heavy shunt. Race one winner Giuliano Alesi cut across Louis Gachot, making contact, before sliding in the way of Reuben Kressner. Kressner and Gachot parked up on the spot, while Alesi retired further down the road.

An excellent restart from second-placed Julien Andlauer then allowed him to overtake Korneev, who quickly slipped behind Fenestraz as well.

The win would, as such, be decided between the two Frenchmen, as Korneev held off Nerses Isaakyan and several other drivers in third place.

After passing Korneev, Fenestraz was two seconds adrift of Andlauer, but he made quick work of that gap and was soon right behind the leader.

He then pulled off a clean overtake and stormed away to the checkered flag, with Andlauer settling for second place.

After Isaakyan slowed down and retired off the track, sophomore Axel Matus became Korneev’s biggest worry.

On the final lap, the Russian appeared to block the Mexican and was promptly spun out, with Matus also slowing and letting Gabriel Aubry through to a maiden podium.

Kami Laliberte held off Valentin Moineault for fifth, with Julien Darras also passing his compatriot before the race was over.

Nikita Troitskiy, Simo Laaksonen and Theophile Senegas all picked up their first points of the season, rounding out the top ten.

The final race of the round will take place tomorrow, with Alesi heading Andlauer on the front row.

Race results
Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Sacha Fenestraz 16 laps in 24:28.694
2 Julien Andlauer +3.823
3 Gabriel Aubry +9.637
4 Axel Matus +9.648
5 Kami Laliberte +15.686
6 Julien Darras +15.863
7 Valentin Moineault +16.168
8 Nikita Troitskiy +18.978
9 Simo Laaksonen +25.804
10 Theophile Senegas +26.880
11 Ye Yifei +27.194
12 Alexey Korneev +31.482
13 Michael Benyahia +37.030
14 Jose Sierra +1:01.556
Not classified
Hugo Sugnot-Darniche +4 laps
Nerses Isaakyan +6 laps
Giuliano Alesi +15 laps
Reuben Kressner +16 laps