Home News Rowe passes d’Orlando for second Mid-Ohio USF2000 win

Rowe passes d’Orlando for second Mid-Ohio USF2000 win

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Myles Rowe overtook his USF2000 title rival Michael d’Orlando to double up in the second race of the weekend at Mid-Ohio.

D’Orlando led away from pole position but came under attack from Rowe when the race restarted on lap six of 20 following a full-course caution after Billy Frazer and Dylan Christie tangled on the run to Turn 4 as they fought over sixth position.

Rowe went to d’Orlando’s outside around Turn 5 and clinched the position on the inside into Turn 6, where Rowe’s Pabst Racing team-mate Jace Denmark followed him through.

D’Orlando got back by Denmark a few laps later and was able to close back up on Rowe, but any chances of a late move where ended by another caution after Bijoy Garg spun off into the barrier outside Turn 9.

Fourteen-year-old Nikita Johnson had an eventful race, running wide in Turn 11 on the first lap but recovering to pass Denmark for third at one stage – only to run even further wide in Turn 11 later on and lose the place once again.

Nicky Hays worked his way up from 13th on the grid to finish fifth while Jagger Jones held off Jacob Douglas and Nicholas d’Orlando to take sixth.

Race result (20 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 30m58.6591s
2 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +0.5031s
3 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +0.7305s
4 Nikita Johnson Velocity Racing Development +1.5172s
5 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports +2.4869s
6 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports +3.4276s
7 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport +4.6838s
8 Nicholas d’Orlando VRD Racing +5.7755s
9 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 Motorsport w/Ignite Autosport +6.3568s
10 Jackson Lee Cape Motorsports +6.8511s
11 Danny Dyszelski Jay Howard Driver Development +7.3148s
12 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing +7.7692s
13 Viktor Andersson VRD Racing +7.9643s
14 Jorge Garciarce Jay Howard Driver Development +8.3411s
15 Evagoras Papasavvas Jay Howard Driver Development +1 lap
16 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing
Ret Lochie Hughes Jay Howard Driver Development
Ret Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport
Ret Dylan Christie DEForce Racing
Fastest lap: Weir, 1m22.5029s

Championship standings
 Rowe 274   2 d’Orlando 251   3 Denmark 239   4 Jones 214   5 Frazer 208   6 Garg 175   Nepveu 171   8 Weir 143   9 Kohlbecker 142   10 Hays 136