Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Abarth Rovera claims Abarth title with Misano win

Rovera claims Abarth title with Misano win

by Gruz David


Cram Motorsport’s Alessio Rovera became the first Italian to take the Formula Abarth title, which he secured with his sixth victory of the season at Misano.

The start of the race was marked with two incidents. Firstly, polesitter Simone Iaquinta forced Dario Orsini off the track, sending the latter into a spin. Meanwhile, further down the grid, a similar accident a collision between Michele Beretta?and?Giorgio Roda, which resulted in both exiting the race.

Iaquinta maintained the lead, but was subsequently black-flagged due to the earlier incident. As a result of Iaquinta’s disqualification, Rovera inherited first and was well on his way to securing the title.

Although Orsini, who managed a magnificent recovery drive after his early spin, was closing in on him quickly over the final laps, Rovera didn’t crack under pressure and crossed the line in first.

Orsini brought the car home in second, while the Russian duo of National Trophy runners – Vitaly Larionov and Sergey Trofimov – took third and fourth. Lukas Moraes, Alessandro Perullo and Sabino de Castro rounded out the finishers.

After race three, Rovera has amassed got a 76-point lead over Iaquinta, mathematically securing him the title. Meanwhile, the National Trophy champion has also been decided early, with Trofimov leading main rival Larionov by 79 points.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport 30:26.535
2 Dario Orsini NBC Group +0.622
3 Vitaly Larionov Euronova by Fortec +9.284
4 Sergey Trofimov Euronova by Fortec +11.516
5 Lukas Moraes Facondini Racing +15.007
6 Alessandro Perullo Technorace +22.938
7 Sabino De Castro AB Motorsport +39.345
Not classified
8 Simone Iaquinta GSK +12 Laps
9 Michele Beretta Euronova by Fortec +17 Laps
10 Giorgio Roda Cram Motorsport +17 Laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport 215
2 Simone Iaquinta GSK Motorsport 139
3 Michele Beretta Euronova Racing by Fortec 131
4 Lukas Moraes Facondini Racing 123
5 Dario Orsini NBC Group 109
6 Giorgio Roda Cram Motorsport 73
7 Luis Michael Dorrbecker Team Torino Motorsport 52
8 Federico Pezzolla Best Lap 49
9 Marco Tolama Tomcat Racing 24
10 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Motorsport 22
11 Aku Pellinen GSK Motorsport 21
12 Loris Spinelli Best Lap 18
13 Giada De Zen Cram Motorsport 13
14 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Motorsport 9
National Trophy standings (top 3)
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Sergey Trofimov Euronova Racing by Fortec 244
2 Vitaly Larionov Euronova Racing by Fortec 163
3 Sabino de Castro AB Motorsport 132