Home Formula FordBritish FFord Rosso beats Richardson for second as Cammish makes it nine

Rosso beats Richardson for second as Cammish makes it nine

by Peter Allen

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Juan Rosso stole second place from Andy Richardson on the last lap of the third and final Formula Ford race at Thruxton, as Dan Cammish extended his winning streak to nine races.

Cammish continued his unbeaten start to the season with a ten-second victory, setting another lap record along the way. He said afterwards that he hoped his less experienced rivals could start to give him a challenge soon.

?I have the experience and the skills to get away at the start, and control the races from there,? he said. ?The other guys are getting a little closer but at the moment they are still a bit of a way off. They will keep going and they will have the chance for some more testing between now and the next races. I?d like some competition – that?s what I came back for. I didn?t come back just to drive around in circles. That said, a win is a win and I am here for the championship.?

Not for the first time, Cammish?s case was helped by an intense fight for second place. With three second-place finishes from five starts already under his belt, Rosso took second spot at the start by getting past front-row starter Harrison Scott.

Richardson also made a flying start to get up to third place from sixth on the grid, and successfully found a way past Rosso on lap five. Rosso got back past on the final lap though as Richardson was hampered by a fuel issue.

Scott finished in fourth ahead of fellow karting graduate Sam Brabham, with Fred Martin-Dye completing the top six. Nico Maranzana and James Abbott were the final finishers.

Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Daniel Cammish JTR 15 laps in 18:18.422
2 Juan Rosso Jamun Racing +10.041
3 Andy Richardson Richardson Racing +10.800
4 Harrison Scott Falcon Motorsport +11.350
5 Sam Brabham JTR +11.700
6 Fred Martin-Dye SWB Motorsport +25.702
7 Nico Maranzana Jamun Racing +29.249
8 James Abbott Radical Motorsport +44.342
Not classified
Camren Kaminsky JTR 10 laps
George Blundell Enigma Motorsport 6 laps
Lassi Halminen Falcon Motorsport 2 laps
David Wagner Falcon Motorsport 0 laps