Home Formula 4Italian F4 Rosso beats charging Bortoleto in wet Italian F4 opener at Mugello

Rosso beats charging Bortoleto in wet Italian F4 opener at Mugello

by Craig Woollard

Photo: ACI Sport

Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso beat Prema Powerteam’s Gabriel Bortoleto in the first Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Mugello.

The 30-minute race started behind the safety car due to the adverse conditions, and several drivers spun off then – including Jenzer Motorsport’s Piotr Wisnicki and Francesco Braschi.

Poleman Rosso got an excellent launch on the restart, and Prema’s Gabriele Mini was immediately under pressure from Jenzer’s Filip Ugran for second and was passed at San Donato.

Jenzer’s Santiago Ramos was the first to trip up once racing began, going off at the first corner.

From there, Rosso opened up a sizeable gap to Ugran, as Mini continued to slip behind.

Bortoleto started 12th, having qualified second but serving a 10-place grid penalty for an engine chance, and was able to climb up the order. He got past Mini, then Ugran, and then his sights on the lead.

The gap was 4.7 seconds at that point, and he was able to whittle it down to 1.6s at the end of the race.

It was a difficult afternoon for Red Bull juniors Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford. Edgar spun off at the final corner before Crawford was taken out by Prema’s Dino Beganovic shortly afterwards. Both were fighting for the lower points places prior to their incidents.

Beganovic was able to continue and ended up in a scrap with G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos. This brought Prema’s Sebastian Montoya into play, and after Beganovic got clear, Gnos and Montoya collided – an incident that ruined both of their races.

Several other cars struggled to keep it on the road, which allowed Ramos to climb back up the order. He found himself in a battle with Van Amersfort’s Francesco Pizzi and car racing debutant Taylor Barnard to the line.

The trio ended up three wide in their scrap over ninth across the line, ending in Pizzi’s favour ahead of Ramos. Nico Rosberg protege Barnard finished just outside of the points.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 33m30.934s
2 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +1.648s
3 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +12.979s
4 Gabriele Mini Prema +17.394s
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +17.780s
6 Dino Beganovic Prema +18.151s
7 Kirill Smal Prema +37.615s
8 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +38.586s
9 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +40.177s
10 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +40.205s
11 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport +40.226s
12 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing +45.577s
13 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +45.667s
14 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
15 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
16 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport +1 lap
17 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +1 lap
18 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech +1 lap
19 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +1 lap
20 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
21 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +1 lap
22 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
23 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +1 lap
24 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
25 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +1 lap
Ret Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing
Ret Sebastian Montoya Prema
Ret Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Bortoleto, 2m10.197s

Championship Standings
1 Mini 153   2 Pizzi 107   3 Edgar 97   4 Rosso 97   5 Ugran 93   6 Crawford 85   7 Beganovic 71   8 Bortoleto 52   9 Joshua Duerksen 43   10 Ollie Bearman 38