Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Ross Martin claims National FF1600 victory at Oulton Park

Ross Martin claims National FF1600 victory at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Ross Martin claimed his first BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 win of the season at Oulton Park as James Clarke stormed from the back of the grid to finish third.

The two-time Scottish FF1600 champion took the lead on the opening lap from race one winner Jonathan Browne and, despite resisting early pressure from championship rival Spike Kohlbecker, claimed a comfortable win.

Having dropping to fourth early on, Browne recovered to finish in second, 2.287 seconds behind Team Dolan?s Martin.

Browne’s Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mate James Clarke had a strong race from the back of the grid following his crash in race one, finishing in third, a further 2.8s behind.

Spike Kohlbecker finished in fourth behind his two team-mates after an incident at Knickerbrook, ?which also resulted in Dolan?s Jamie Sharp retiring from the race having ran with the lead group early on.

Neil Maclennan finished fifth, while Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Michael Macpherson finished in 11th after an early spin at Lodge Corner.

Brendon Leigh again finished as best rookie in sixth, 0.186s behind his team-mate, with fellow rookie Morgan Quinn finishing seventh.

Max Marzorati won the Clubman class after a late overtake on race one class-winner Nigel Dolan. The pair finished eighth and ninth overall.

B-M Racing?s Rory Smith did not start the race after his engine issues in race one, while rookie team-mate Nicole Woods finished in 13th place.


Race results (11 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ross Martin Team Dolan 20m10.059s
2 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +2.287s
3 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.115s
4 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.724s
5 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing +9.969s
6 Brendon Leigh Kevin Mills Racing +10.155s
7 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +22.554s
8 Max Marzorati Team Dolan +24.255s
9 Nigel Dolan +25.402s
10 Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport +29.486s
11 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +36.385s
12 Scott Huntley Oldfield Motorsport +54.163s
13 Nicole Woods B-M Racing +1m02.730s
Ret James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing
Fastest lap: Clarke, 1m47.937s

Championship Standings
Pro? ?1
?Martin 141? ?2?Kohlbecker 129? ?3 Maclennan 122? ?4?Browne 111? ?5?Clarke 76? ?6?Sharp 72? ?7?Macpherson 70? ?8?Quinn 56? ?9 Rory Smith 54? ?10 Huntley 41

Clubman? ?1?Marzorati 162? ?2?John Svensson 86? ?3?Adam Quartermaine 70???4?Pascal Monbaron 68? ?5?Dolan 61? ?6?Woods 42? ?7?Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 39? ?8?Sam Street 38? ?9?Henry Chart 17