Home Formula 4GB4 Romanek beats Hannah to win GB4’s reversed-grid race at Silverstone

Romanek beats Hannah to win GB4’s reversed-grid race at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek ended his first weekend in GB4 with victory in the reversed-grid race at Silverstone.

Romanek finished 2.064 seconds clear of early leader Logan Hannah, who scored her first podium finish for Graham Brunton Racing.

Chloe Grant led away from pole into Copse, but she was soon passed by her team-mate Hannah into Becketts, while Romanek moved past Tom Mills and Grant at Stowe into second.

Mills and Fortec’s Elias Adestam moved into third and fourth, with Waberski trying to pass Grant into the Vale. Fortec’s Nikolas Taylor tried a move up the inside of the pair of them, but became airborne after contact, putting himself and Waberski out, with Grant rejoining at the back after also ending up off the circuit.

Hannah resisted pressure from Romanek to lead the first half of the race, with the pair pulling clear of the rest.

Romanek swept around the outside of Hannah at the end of the Hangar Straight to take the lead at the halfway stage. He initially came under renewed pressure from Hannah before pulling away in the closing stages.

Adestam passed Mills, who was continuing to struggle with a car issue that blighted his weekend, to finish a further five seconds behind in third. But his podium finish was under investigation for passing Mils with four wheels off the track, and he received a two-second penalty that dropped him to fifth.

Elite Motorsport’s Jack Sherwood came out on top in a race-long scrap with Hillspeed duo Megan Gilkes and Max Marzorati to finish fourth, which became third after Adestam’s penalty, while Mills salvaged seventh.

Alex Walker extended his championship advantage despite finishing eighth ahead of Rosserverde Racing’s Christian Lester, who scored his best result so far in ninth.

Race result (9 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 18m34.948s
2 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +2.064s
3 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport +7.508s
4 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +8.131s
5 Elias Adestam Fortec Motorsports +9.380s
6 Max Marzorati Hillspeed +9.738s
7 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +10.255s
8 Alex Walker Elite Motorsport +10.395s
9 Christian Lester Rossoverde Racing +18.816s
10 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports +31.222s
11 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing +34.795s
Ret Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Sherwood, 2m02.568s

Championship standings
Walker 200   2 Taylor 188   3 Marzorati 188   4 Waberski 168   5 Adestam 156   7 Mills 148   7 Gilkes 136   8 Sherwood 134   9 Edgar 94   10 Hannah 79