Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Roman Stanek returns to FREC with US Racing in Misano test

Roman Stanek returns to FREC with US Racing in Misano test

by Ida Wood

Roman Stanek starred in the latest Formula Regional European Championship test at Misano, despite departing his drive in the series last month.

The 16-year-old Czech signed with Prema for the upcoming season, but left the team in June and was replaced by W Series champion Jamie Chadwick.

He joined US Racing, which ran him to fourth in ADAC Formula 4 and fifth in Italian F4 as a car racing rookie last year, in the first day of the Misano test on Wednesday.

Prema’s Giuanluca Petecof edged KIC Motorsport’s Red Bull junior Juri Vips, who is still aiming to race in Super Formula this year and recently signed a deal to race in FREC, in the four-hour single session test, beating Vips’ long-standing bencmark by 0.008s with 10 minutes to go.

Closely matched in third, fourth and fifth were Prema duo Oliver Rasmussen and Arthur Leclerc, and Stanek. At the halfway point of the session it was Stanek who was on top, but he slid down the order and didn’t have time to set a fast lap at the end after Rasmsussen stopped on track and caused a red flag. – one of several during the day.

Chadwick had her most impressive showing yet in eighth place, 1.143s off the pace.

Just before the final red flag, Prema’s Gabriele Mini put in two great laps to comfortably top the parallel Italian F4 test.

He was 0.288s faster than DRZ Benelli’s Francesco Simonazzi, with Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran in third.

Mateusz Kaprzyk tested with another new team in BVM Racing, and fellow Pole Piotr Wisinicki drove with Jenzer.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gianluca Petecof Prema 1m29.878s 53
2 Juri Vips KIC Motorsport 1m29.886s +0.008s 56
3 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m30.508s +0.630s 49
4 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m30.560s +0.682s 50
5 Roman Stanek US Racing 1m30.574s +0.696s 54
6 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport 1m30.840s +0.962s 50
7 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m30.928s +1.050s 41
8 Jamie Chadwick Prema 1m31.021s +1.143s 50
9 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m31.154s +1.276s 66
10 Alessandro Famularo Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.235s +1.357s 43
11 David Vidales US Racing 1m31.675s +1.797s 47
12 Gillian Henrion Gillian Track Events 1m32.788s +2.910s 41
13 Andrea Cola Monolite Racing 1m33.417s +3.539s 43
Italian F4
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m34.735s 44
2 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m35.023s +0.288s 62
3 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.091s +0.356s 58
4 Gabriele Bortoleto Prema 1m35.099s +0.364s 53
5 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.149s +0.414s 64
6 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.309s +0.574s 57
7 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.323s +0.588s 58
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m35.336s +0.601s 53
9 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.370s +0.635s 51
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m35.417s +0.682s 58
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m35.468s +0.733s 47
12 Lorenzo Ferrari Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.659s +0.924s 60
13 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m35.834s +1.099s 62
14 Mateusz Kaprzyk BVM Racing 1m35.876s +1.141s 54
15 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m35.894s +1.159s 59
16 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport 1m35.918s +1.183s 54
17 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.053s +2.318s 48