Home Featured Roman Stanek claims his maiden FIA Formula 3 pole

Roman Stanek claims his maiden FIA Formula 3 pole

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Trident’s Roman Stanek will start the FIA Formula 3 feature race at Barcelona from pole position, with championship leader Victor Martins alongside him on the front row.

Stanek set a 1m33.516s to top qualifying, half a tenth up on ART Grand Prix’s Martins, with five different teams in the top five as Alexander Smolyar (MP Motorsport), Isack Hadjar (Hitech GP) and Arthur Leclerc (Prema) were third, fourth and fith.

Oliver Bearman completed the top six for Prema after competing for the fastest lap in the final seconds of the session.

Stanek’s team-mate Zane Maloney was 12th fastest, meaning he is on provisional pole for Saturday’s sprint race, but an incident where he missed the weighbridge in the pitlane will likely earn him a sporting penalty prior to the race.

The final minutes of qualifying were almost race-like at times, with some drivers going three wide as they jostled for track position before they creeped around the final chicane to try to get clean air to set their final lap.

Smolyar and Martins both set personal bests in the first sectors, while Leclerc as unable to improve on his time. Meanwhile Stanek set the fastest first sector to establish what would become the fastest lap.

Once all cars had put in one hot lap at the beginning of the session, it was Caio Collet who was at the top, followed by Franco Colapinto and Martins.

William Alatalo and Stanek had to take a detour through the gravel in two separate incidents at turns seven and eight early on too, and as qualifying approached the 10-minute mark the times began to fall with Martins going fastest and Smolyar, Leclerc and Bearman all within two tenths of him.

The session came alive in the last six minutes as the entirety of the grid ventured onto the track for their final laps.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Roman Stanek Trident 1m33.516s 11
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m33.568s +0.052s 11
3 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m33.613s +0.097s 11
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m33.726s +0.210s 11
5 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.731s +0.215s 11
6 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m33.747s +0.231s 11
7 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m33.750s +0.234s 11
8 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m33.805s +0.289s 11
9 Jak Crawford Prema 1m33.825s +0.309s 11
10 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m33.857s +0.341s 11
11 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m33.873s +0.357s 11
12 Zane Maloney Trident 1m33.926s +0.410s 10
13 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.963s +0.447s 10
14 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m34.040s +0.524s 11
15 Oliver Rasmussen Trident 1m34.041s +0.525s 11
16 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m34.117s +0.601s 11
17 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.180s +0.664s 11
18 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.317s +0.801s 11
19 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m34.320s +0.804s 11
20 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m34.342s +0.826s 11
21 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.568s +1.052s 10
22 Lirim Zendeli Charouz Racing System 1m34.686s +1.170s 11
23 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m34.735s +1.219s 11
24 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m34.795s +1.279s 11
25 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.866s +1.350s 12
26 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m34.973s +1.457s 10
27 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.096s +1.580s 10
28 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m35.337s +1.821s 11
29 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m35.549s +2.033s 11
30 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m35.575s +2.059s 11