Home Formula 4British F4 ROKiT Racing Star Deagen Fairclough claims maiden British F4 win

ROKiT Racing Star Deagen Fairclough claims maiden British F4 win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

ROKiT Racing Star winner Deagen Fairclough took his maiden British Formula 4 win in the reversed-grid race on Brands Hatch’s Indy layout.

The JHR Developments driver and single-seater newcomer, who earned his place on the grid by winning an Esports contest, was unstoppable throughout the race and finished 4.884 seconds ahead of the next closest driver to become the fourth different winner so far in the 2023 season.

Fairclough got the best start off the line, quickly passing Isaac Barashi and Dion Gowda to move into second. Pole-sitter Aiden Neate initially held onto the lead, but Fairclough was able to get alongside him. The pair made some slight contact and Neate went wide, allowing Fairclough to come through for the lead. Neate returned to the track in third behind Gowda. 

As Fairclough pulled away at the front of the field, an issue for Barashi left the Argenti Motorsport driver stuck at the side of the track. The safety car was called out, and Fairclough’s two-second lead was reduced to nothing. 

Racing resumed with 12 minutes left on the clock. Gowda could not put pressure on Fairclough on the restart, instead coming under attack from Neate behind. 

As Gowda kept Neate at bay, Fairclough was left unchallenged at the front. He set the fastest lap of the race on his way to victory. 

Gowda and Neate were joined by Louis Sharp late in the race. Sharp tried to challenge Neate but couldn’t find a way past and the order remained unchanged. 

Behind, Gabriel Stilp held of Aqil Alibhai and a hard charging Daniel Guinchard to take fifth, while Jaden Pariat held the final-points paying position.

James Higgins, who will start from pole in race three later today, struggled to make progress from the tailend of the grid and only managed to climb up to 14th. Meanwhile Sonny Smith, who started from the very back of the grid, stormed through to ninth, just ahead of William Macintyre.  

Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments 18m15.406s
2 Dion Gowda Carlin +4.884s
3 Aiden Neate Fortec Motorsports +5.222s
4 Louis Sharp Carlin +6.374s
5 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +8.276s
6 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +9.010s
7 Daniel Guinchard Chris Dittmann Racing +9.393s
8 Jaden Pariat Argenti Motorsport +11.852s
9 Sonny Smith JHR Developments +12.357s
10 William Macintyre Hitech GP +12.661s
11 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing +13.403s
12 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +13.535s
13 Kanato Le Hitech GP +14.238s
14 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports +17.097s
15 Josh Irfan Carlin +17.790s
16 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +19.341s
17 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing +25.435s
18 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport +26.657s
19 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +1 lap
Ret Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport
Fastest lap: Fairclough, 45.425s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 67   2 Fairclough 58   3 Gowda 55   4 Noah Lisle 51   5 Le 42   6 Macintyre 36   7 Neate 36   8 Higgins 36   9 Guinchard 29   10 Alibhai 28