Home Featured Robert Shwartzman keeps Prema on top on final day of FIA F3 pre-season testing

Robert Shwartzman keeps Prema on top on final day of FIA F3 pre-season testing

by Josh Suttill

Photo: FIA F3 Championship

Robert Shwartzman kept Prema Racing on top of the timesheets as pre-season testing for the 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship concluded at the Hungaroring.

Nineteen-year-old Russian Shwartzman posted a 1m30.746s in the morning session, which was 0.665s quicker than fellow Ferrari junior Marcus Armstrong’s benchmark from the first day of the test.

The morning session provided the runs nearest to qualification simulations seen during testing, with Shwartzman’s lap nearly two-tenths quicker than Renault junior Christian Lundgaard, while his team-mate and fellow Euro F3 race-winner Jehan Daruvala completed the top three.

Armstrong made it three Prema-run drivers in the top four, while Jenzer’s Honda junior Yuki Tsunoda completed the top five. Tsunoda also topped the afternoon session, after setting an early flier that would remain unbeaten, although it was some 1.431s off Shwartzman’s morning benchmark.

David Beckmann was sixth fastest for ART Grand Prix ahead of former team-mates and Asian F3 title rivals Jake Hughes (HWA) and Raoul Hyman (Sauber Junior Team).

Red Bull junior and Toyota Racing Series winner Liam Lawson was ninth quickest for MP Motorsport ahead of Formula Renault Eurocup champion Max Fewtrell.

There were five red flags throughout the final day of testing before the new championship kicks off in Barcelona on May 11.


Combined day two times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing 1:30.746 1:32.464
2 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:30.940 1:34.424
3 Jehan Daruvala Prema Racing 1:31.021 1:33.129
4 Marcus Armstrong Prema Racing 1:31.122 1:33.123
5 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.146 1:32.177
6 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix 1:31.184 1:33.950
7 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1:31.207 1:32.547
8 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:31.213 1:32.800
9 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 1:31.273 1:33.114
10 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix 1:31.291 1:34.085
11 Juri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.347 1:32.733
12 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.384 1:34.227
13 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:31.442 1:34.299
14 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing 1:31.442 1:33.983
15 Niko Kari Trident 1:31.467 1:32.905
16 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:31.501 1:33.849
17 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:31.503 1:32.733
18 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:31.508 1:33.827
19 Alexander Peroni Campos Racing 1:31.530 1:33.212
20 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport 1:31.604 1:33.195
21 Ye Yifei Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.670 1:33.990
22 Artem Petrov Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.692 1:32.520
23 Felipe Drugovich Carlin 1:31.704 1:32.382
24 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1:31.785 1:34.193
25 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.964 1:32.939
26 Delvin DeFrancesco Trident 1:32.106 1:33.925
27 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab 1:32.146 1:32.880
28 Teppei Natori Carlin 1:32.415 1:33.455
29 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab 1:32.549 1:33.017
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:33.320 1:34.311