Home Featured Robert Megennis claims Freedom 100 pole at Indianapolis

Robert Megennis claims Freedom 100 pole at Indianapolis

by Jack Amey

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Robert Megennis claimed pole position for the Indy Lights Freedom 100 at Indianapolis as Andretti Autosport locked out the first four positions on the grid.

Megennis posted a two-lap average speed of 194.206mph to claim pole position ahead of Andretti team-mate Oliver Askew.

Askew was 0.2mph slower after his two-lap run.

Askew and Megennis were the only drivers to post a total time in the 1m32s bracket with Megennis heading Askew by a tenth of a second.

Ryan Norman was third after setting a two-lap average of 193.033mph, although did top the time sheets until Megennis and Askew posted times later in the session.

Jarett Andretti completed the Andretti lockout at the top of the grid on his series debut with an average speed of 192.822mph, 1.4mph slower than Megennis.

Lucas Kohl and Aaron Telitz were fifth and sixth quickest for Belardi Auto Racing with speeds of 192.602mph and 192.489mph respectively.

Telitz was a late entry to the Freedom 100 field with Belardi after a switch to GT racing this year following two seasons of racing in Indy Lights with the team.

Dalton Kellett was seventh fastest for Juncos Racing with an average speed of 192.183mph, beating BN Racing/Team Pelfrey?s Toby Sowery by just 0.005mph.

Rinus VeeKay was ninth in the second Juncos Racing entry with an average speed of 192.124mph with Belardi?s Chris Windom and BN Racing?s David Malukas rounding off the grid.

The Freedom 100 race takes place on Friday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Qualifying results (speed in mph)
Pos Name Team Speed
1 Robert Megennis Andretti Autosport 194.206
2 Oliver Askew Andretti Autosport 194.067
3 Ryan Norman Andretti Autosport 193.033
4 Jarett Andretti Andretti Autosport 192.822
5 Lucas Kohl Belardi Auto Racing 192.602
6 Aaron Telitz Belardi Auto Racing 192.489
7 Dalton Kellett Juncos Racing 192.183
8 Toby Sowery BN Racing/Team Pelfrey 192.178
9 Rinus VeeKay Juncos Racing 192.124
10 Chris Windom BAR/Jonathan Byrd’s Racing 191.557
11 David Malukas BN Racing 191.304