Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins and Alexander Smolyar share Formula Renault Eurocup poles in Monaco

Victor Martins and Alexander Smolyar share Formula Renault Eurocup poles in Monaco

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport / DPPI

Victor Martins and Alexander Smolyar will start a race apiece from pole position in Monaco in the Formula Renault Eurocup.

The group qualifying format used as standard last year returned for the first time in the Eurocup’s new era, with Martins and Smolyar topping their respective groups. Martins will start race one from pole, with Smolyar sharing the front grid. The positions on each row are reversed for race two.

Group A qualifying started on a wet track, but it started drying quickly. However, the heavy braking zone of Sainte Devote still proved troublesome throughout.

JD Motorsport’s Ugo de Wilde set the initial pace, before being caught out at Turn 1, and reigning French Formula 4 champion Caio Collet moved to the front.

De Wilde reclaimed top spot, but in the final few minutes he was shuffled down to sixth as several drivers made late improvements. Best of these was MP Motorsport’s Martins, who was nearly a second faster than Collet.

Global Racing Service’s Xavier Lloveras was third fastest, another half-second behind, while his team-mate Alessio Deledda crashed out and failed to set a time within the 107% limit needed to qualify.

Smolyar controlled the second session for R-ace GP, despite his fastest time being deducted. Drivers also switched to slick tyres in this session, despite frequent mistakes still taking place, but sticking with wets enabled JD’s Joao Vieira to go second fastest. Unfortunately for him, he crashed shortly after.


Qualifying results
Group A ? Group B
1 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m41.860 1 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP 1m41.335
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m42.762 2 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport 1m41.825
3 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service 1m43.413 3 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 1m41.898
4 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport 1m43.775 4 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport 1m42.421
5 Patrik Pasma Arden 1m43.788 5 Callan O’Keefe FA Racing by Drivex 1m42.747
6 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport 1m44.062 6 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport 1m43.884
7 Lucas Alecco Roy M2 Competition 1m45.300 7 Kush Maini M2 Competition 1m43.909
8 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech 1m45.733 8 Patrick Schott FA Racing by Drivex 1m44.326
9 Yves Baltas M2 Competition 1m45.893 9 Federico Malvesititi Bhaitech 1m44.733
10 Sebastian Fernandez Arden 1m46.159 10 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex 1m45.838
DNQ Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service 1m52.842 11 Frank Bird Arden 1m47.668