Home News Robb controls first Indy Pro 2000 qualifying in St. Petersburg

Robb controls first Indy Pro 2000 qualifying in St. Petersburg

by Craig Woollard

Sting Ray Robb took pole for Indy Pro 2000 race one in St. Petersburg, as the championship returned to where it was supposed to start before lockdown.

There are several changes to this weekend’s grid, with 2019 title runner-up Rasmus Lindh returning at Turn 3 Motorsport in place of Antoine Comeau, Tristan Charpentier replacing the injured Braden Eves at Exclusive Autosport, and Moises de la Vara (DEForce Racing) and Nate Aranda (Juncos) both back after missing races.

Robb set the early pace during the 20-minute qualifying session in commanding fashion, taking the top spot by 0.4s over DEForce’s Manuel Sulaiman and then sitting in the pits waiting for anyone to beat him.

The recently crowned champion then returned to track on fresh tyres to set an ever quicker time after Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea came very close to displacing him from provisional pole.

It was Turn 3’s Danial Frost who went top briefly before Robb came back and reclaimed the place by a quarter of a second.

Frost rounds out the front row, ahead of DEForce’s Parker Thompson, who was quick in practice, and McElrea.

Juncos’s Artem Petrov, Sulaiman, Pabst’s Colin Kaminsy and Lindh round out the top eight.

Devlin DeFrancesco was ninth in his Andretti Steinbrenner entry, but currently leads a six-car battle for the title runner-up spot this weekend.

De la Vara, Aranda and FatBoy Racing’s Charles Finelli rounded out those who set a time, as DEForce’s Kory Enders was unable to appear on the track.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1m08.172s 11
2 Danial Frost Turn 3 Motorsport 1m08.427s +0.2554s 15
3 Parker Thompson DEForce Racing 1m08.448s +0.2763s 13
4 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing 1m08.525s +0.3532s 15
5 Artem Petrov Juncos Racing 1m08.541s +0.3694s 11
6 Manuel Sulaiman DEForce Racing 1m08.730s +0.5587s 14
7 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m08.741s +0.5689s 15
8 Rasmus Lindh Turn 3 Motorsport 1m08.874s +0.7021s 14
9 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Racing 1m09.000s +0.8278s 14
10 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 1m09.524s +1.3524s 14
11 Tristan Charpentier Exclusive Autosport 1m09.871s +1.6989s 16
12 Nate Aranda Juncos Racing 1m09.945s +1.7732s 14
13 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing 1m15.802s +7.6302s 14
14 Kory Enders DEForce Racing no time