Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Rinus VeeKay storms to Indianapolis pole for Indy Lights race two

Rinus VeeKay storms to Indianapolis pole for Indy Lights race two

by Craig Woollard

Juncos Racing?s Rinus VeeKay secured his maiden pole position at the Indianapolis road course for the second Indy Lights race of the weekend.

The reigning Pro Mazda champion spent much of the 30-minute session towards the top of the timesheets ? most notably in the early phases of the session.

He dropped back down the order slightly on his second run but became the only driver to dip below the 75-second barrier this weekend on his penultimate lap with a time of 1m14.9935s.

His time of 1m14.9935 was half a tenth faster than Andretti Autosport?s Robert Megennis?s best effort. Yesterday’s race winner will start race two in second, after heading the timesheets for much of the latter part of the session.

Andretti?s Ryan Norman, who seemed to struggle early on in the session, left it late to secure third on the grid.

The third Andretti driver and championship leader ? Oliver Askew, couldn’t match their pace towards the end and slumped to fifth in the order. He was also pipped late on by David Malukas ? the BN Racing driver was another who made a significant improvement on his second run in comparison to his first.

Belardi Auto Racing?s Zachary Claman DeMelo will start the race sixth, ahead of Toby Sowery. Like Malukas, Sowery also appeared to struggle early in the session before making a significant improvement.

Juncos? Dalton Kellett ? who despite qualifying last but one was only four tenths off of VeeKay?s best effort ? spent much of the session towards the rear of the timing sheets.

However, Belardi?s Lucas Kohl spent pretty much all of it at the rear of the pack and will start last of the nine runners after failing to improve on his second run.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Rinus VeeKay Juncos Racing 1m14.9935s
2 Robert Megennis Andretti Autosport +0.0583s
3 Ryan Norman Andretti Autosport +0.1474s
4 David Malukas BN Racing +0.2278s
5 Oliver Askew Andretti Autosport +0.2812s
6 Zachary Claman DeMelo Belardi Auto Racing +0.3182s
7 Toby Sowery BN Racing/Team Pelfrey +0.4211s
8 Dalton Kellett Juncos Racing +0.4412s
9 Lucas Kohl Belardi Auto Racing +1.1912s