Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Jonathan Browne scores first National FF1600 win at Oulton Park

Jonathan Browne scores first National FF1600 win at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Jonathan Browne scored his first win in the BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 Championship at Oulton Park, as Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mate James Clarke crashed out.

Clarke drew alongside poleman Browne at the start, but locked up as he attempted to pass his team-mate around the outside into Lodge Corner before crashing heavily into the outside barriers, bringing out the safety car. He?walked away from the crash, but was taken to the medical centre for precautionary checks.

When the race resumed with ten minutes to go, the top seven ran almost nose-to-tail for several laps.

Browne held on to win by 0.183s from Team Dolan?s Ross Martin, with Spike Kohlbecker completing the podium a further 0.2s behind

Neil Maclennan finished fourth for Kevin Mills Racing ahead of team-mate Michael Macpherson and Team Dolan?s Jamie Sharp. Despite running fourth in the closing stages, B-M Racing?s Rory Smith was forced out with engine issues.

Brendon Leigh finished as top rookie in seventh, after a close battle with Team USA scholar Aaron Jeansonne. Jeansonne finished in 11th after dropping down the order late on. Nigel Dolan won the Clubman class ahead of Max Marzorati, the pair finishing eighth and ninth overall.


Race results (9 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing 20m52.476s
2 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.183s
3 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.379s
4 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing +0.567s
5 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +4.163s
6 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +4.388s
7 Brendon Leigh Kevin Mills Racing +10.766s
8 Nigel Dolan +11.430s
9 Max Marzorati Team Dolan +19.478s
10 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +20.087s
11 Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport +20.152s
12 Scott Huntley Oldfield Motorsport +29.389s
13 Nicole Woods B-M Racing 43.779s
Ret Rory Smith B-M Racing
Ret James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing
Pole: Browne,1m47.614???Fastest lap: Maclennan, 1m48.236s

Championship Standings
Pro? ?1
?Martin 109? ?2?Kohlbecker 107? ?3 Maclennan 102? ?4?Browne 84? ?5?Sharp 70? ?6?Macpherson 60? ?7?Smith 54? ?8?Clarke 50? ?9 Quinn 41? ?10 Huntley 33

Clubman? ?1?Marzorati 128? ?2?John Svensson 86? ?3?Adam Quartermaine 70???4?Pascal Monbaron 68? ?5?Woods 42? ?6?Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 39? ?7?Sam Street 38? ?8?Dolan 34? ?9?Henry Chart 17