Home Featured Piastri picks up first Eurocup win after team-mate Smolyar retires

Piastri picks up first Eurocup win after team-mate Smolyar retires

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Oscar Piastri took a comfortable first Formula Renault Eurocup win by 12.693s seconds at Silverstone, but only inherited the lead after R-ace GP team-mate Alexander Smolyar retired.

The Australian beat his team-mate to pole, and the pair ran side-by-side through most of the first lap. Smolyar eventually took the lead at Brooklands, with Piastri slotting in behind and hounding him for several laps.

After eight laps the gap had grown to a second, but Smolyar’s car started to slow and he pulled off at Club on the ninth lap of 16.

This handed Piastri the lead, by a handy seven seconds, which he extended through the remainder of the race.

M2 Competition’s Kush Maini started the race behind the R-ace GP pair, but had dropped to eighth by lap four and was then fighting for positions outside of the points. His race was summarised by an incident that required a front wing change, leaving him a distant 18th.

The battle for third, which then became second, was taken up by Bhaitech’s Petr Ptacek and JD Motorsport’s Joao Vieira, although it didn’t really heat up until the final few laps of the race. Vieira sat behind for lap after lap, and made his move stick at Turn 1 on lap 12 of 16.

Second place for the Brazilian was his first podium since Italian Formula 4 in 2016, while Ptacek took the debuting Bhaitech team’s first Eurocup podium of the current era.

After starring in free practice, Vieira’s team-mate Ugo de Wilde held off FA Racing by Drivex’s Callan O’Keefe to take fourth, only for the latter to be penalised for abusing track limits. This promoted the third R-ace GP car of Caio Collet to fifth, who had gone off at Maggotts on the first lap and lost several positions after starting from his finishing position.

O’Keefe’s penalty dropped him to eighth, behind Lorenzo Colombo (MP Motorsport) and Leonardo Lorandi (JD), while Patrik Pasma (Arden) and Victor Martins (MP) completed the top 10.

The MP drivers struggled throughout qualifying and the race, and the single point Martins earned in 10th means he’s dropped from the championship lead to third behind Piastri and de Wilde.


Race results (16 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 32m00.654s
2 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport +12.693s
3 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +15.130s
4 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +16.322s
5 Caio Collet R-ace GP +16.849s
6 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +17.034s
7 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +18.236s
8 Callan O’Keeffe FA Racing by Drivex +25.999s
9 Patrik Pasma Arden +28.701s
10 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +31.901s
11 Yves Baltas M2 Competition +32.381s
12 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +36.467s
13 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +37.062s
14 Patrick Schott FA Racing by Drivex +39.727s
15 Frank Bird Arden +40.711s
16 Lucas Alecco Roy M2 Competition +42.834s
17 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +46.920s
18 Kush Maini M2 Competition +1m14.188s
19 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex +1 lap
Ret Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Smolyar, 1m59.131s

Championship standings
1?Piastri 37? ?2?de Wilde 37? ?3?Lorandi 32? ?4?Martins 31? ?5?Smolyar 25? ?6?Maini 25? ?7?Vieira 24? ?8?Colombo 23? ?9?Ptacek 17? ?10?Collet 16