Home News Rasmus Lindh completes Indianapolis double in Indy Pro 2000

Rasmus Lindh completes Indianapolis double in Indy Pro 2000

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Rasmus Lindh took a second consecutive win and the Indy Pro 2000 points lead on Indianapolis’s road course.

The Juncos Racing driver held off a challenge from team-mate Sting Ray Robb and RP Motorsport’s Kyle Kirkwood at the start, and then edged out a gap up front to take a 2.0669 second victory.

A broken front wing for Kirkwood, who had risen from the back to finish second in the first race of the weekend, put him a lap down and restricted him to 13th place.

No other driver was able to match the Juncos pair, and although third placed finisher Danial Frost kept Robb on his toes.

Frost’s team-mate Nikita Lastochkin finished a distant fourth, but way clear of the dramatic fight for fifth place. Five drivers held the position in the second half of the race, and two forceful moves down the inside of the first corner by Parker Thompson meant it was the Abel Motorsports driver who finished the race with the position.

The Canadian was the slowest car on track in qualifying, and made some important moves early on in the race. His two moves on Moises de la Vara and Jacob Loomis prompted both to take to the grass on the outside of the first corner, which led to not only them dropping down the order but others taking avoiding action.

Although he loses his points lead to Lindh, Thompson’s recover drive to fifth means he is only 11 points behind. De la Vara recovered to beat Thompsons’ team-mate Jacob Abel to sixth, with Phillippe Denes, Antonio Serravalle and Kory Enders unexpectedly completing the top 10 after being anonymous in the first half of the race.

Kirkwood’s new RP Motorsport team-mate Ian Rodriguez ended up falling from fifth to 12th, one position behind the similarly impressive Loomis of the the debuting JDL Racing.


Race results (25 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Rasmus Lindh Juncos Racing 33m22.761s
2 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing +2.0669s
3 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport +2.7186s
4 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport +18.6584s
5 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports +27.9877s
6 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing +30.5674s
7 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +31.7432s
8 Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing +32.1513s
9 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/JHDD +32.9492s
10 Kory Enders DEForce Racing +33.7431s
11 Jacob Loomis JDL Racing +35.0240s
12 Ian Rodriguez RP Motorsport +40.1603s
13 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport +1 lap
14 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing +1 lap
Pole: Lindh, 1m18.8898s? ? ? Fastest lap: Kirkwood, 1m19.500s

Championship standings
1?Lindh 109? ?2?Thompson 98? ?3 Frost 86? ?4?Robb 83? ?5?Kirkwood 67? ?6 Lastochkin 64? ?7 de la Vara 53? ?8 Abel 51? ?9 Denes 48? ?10 Serravalle 46