Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Rinus VeeKay dominates second Indy Lights race at Road America

Rinus VeeKay dominates second Indy Lights race at Road America

by Ida Wood

Photo: Road to Indy

Rinus VeeKay narrowed Oliver Askew’s Indy Lights championship lead to three points with a dominant win from pole at Road America.

The Dutchman held off Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Norman at the start, before streaking off to a 12.8989 second victory.

Having impressed with victory in the first race of the weekend, Norman had a relatively comfortable run to second place at the positions behind changed throughout.

Championship leader Oliver Askew ran behind team-mate Norman at the start, and briefly got past on the fourth lap. The move ended up putting him under pressure from the third Andretti car of Robert Megennis, who moved past his team-mate midway through the race.

Askew eventually reclaimed the position, and in the closing laps did get closer to Norman.

Once third place had been established, the battle for fourth then became more energised. It wasn’t contested by Megennis though, as he and BN Racing/Team Pelfrey driver Toby Sowery started to suffer from ill-handling cars and sank down the order.

This handed the initiative to the second BN Racing car of David Malukas and Belardi Auto Racing’s Aaron Telitz. The latter had briefly ran second on the opening lap before missing his braking point and dropping to last, and despite numerous mistakes and a few instances of contact he made his way up to fifth.

Megennis eventually finished sixth, a considerable distance ahead of VeeKay’s Juncos Racing team-mate Dalton Kellett, the struggling Sowery and Belardi’s Lucas Kohl.


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Rinus VeeKay Juncos Racing 38m43.046s
2 Ryan Norman Andretti Autosport +12.8989s
3 Oliver Askew Andretti Autosport +13.6108s
4 David Malukas BN Racing +17.4219s
5 Aaron Telitz Belardi Auto Racing +19.7431s
6 Robert Megennis Andretti Autosport +22.0393s
7 Dalton Kellett Juncos Racing +28.5255s
8 Toby Sowery BN Racing/Team Pelfrey +32.9780s
9 Lucas Kohl Belardi Auto Racing +40.7614s
Fastest lap: VeeKay, 1m55.291s

Championship standings

1?Askew 229? ?2?VeeKay 226? ?3?Megennis 186? ?4?Norman 186? ?5 Sowery 169? ?6?Malukas 150? ?7?Kellett 128? ?8?Zachary Claman DeMelo 124? ?9?Kohl 122? ?10?Julien Falchero 66