Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Rinus VeeKay and David Malukas seal Indy Lights seats

Rinus VeeKay and David Malukas seal Indy Lights seats

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

Pro Mazda drivers Rinus VeeKay and David Malukas have secured their Indy Lights graduations for 2019, staying with the same teams they drove for this year.

Champion VeeKay will drive for Juncos Racing, who he topped both of the post-season Indy Lights tests with. As Pro Mazda champion, VeeKay will be the last ever winner of the Mazda-titled scholarship to Indy Lights.

?I really feel at home with Juncos Racing, ?said VeeKay. ?I think I can improve my performance and get better with this team, and that is extremely important for my next goal, the IndyCar Series.

“It?s also great to see that the team work extremely hard for me. Last season they proved that, after a setback, they can come back better than ever before and that they do everything they can to be successful. I?m really looking forward to work together with Ricardo and his team again and to being successful together.”

Malukas has confirmed he’ll be driving for BN Racing, who he raced for in USF2000 in 2017 as well as in a race-winning Pro Mazda campaign this year.

The team will also be new to Indy Lights next year, although the combination was faster than everyone bar VeeKay in the recent Homestead-Miami test.