Home News Reece Gold goes fastest in Indy Pro 2000 test at Indianapolis

Reece Gold goes fastest in Indy Pro 2000 test at Indianapolis

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold was fastest overall in Indy Pro 2000’s pre-event test on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course.

The test consisted of two one-hour sessions on Thursday, and will be followed up by the single free practice session later in the afternoon.

Jack William Miller led the way for much of the first test session, a 1m22.637s keeping him ahead right until the final 13 minutes when Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster went faster by 0.007 seconds. Juncos pair Gold and Enaam Ahmed sat behind them in third and fourth, with Gold just 0.034s off the pace.

The order was shaken up in the final five minutes as drivers went on their final flying laps, and Nolan Siegel then his DEForce Racing team-mate Kiko Porto went to the top. Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green bettered both of them with a 1m22.295s set with just over a minute-and-a-half to go to end the session on top.

However that top three failed to improve their pace in the second session, which was disrupted midway through by a red flag stoppage.

Gold recorded a 1m22.078s lap prior to that break and it went unbeaten after it, with Miller sitting in second throughout as well. Foster went third fastest, and Green’s morning benchmark put him fourth overall for the day.

The top 13 were spread by a second in the combined timesheet, with Wyatt Brichacek up in ninth despite very limited mileage in session one. Jordan Missig only set three laps in session two and he ended up down in 14th place. The only other non-improver in the afternoon was Lindsay Brewer, who will be making her delayed IP2000 debut this weekend with Exclusive Autosport. She was two seconds off the pace.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Reece Gold Juncos Racing 1m22.078s 51
2 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m22.242s +0.164s 51
3 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m22.294s +0.216s 50
4 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m22.295s +0.217s 53
5 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m22.371s +0.293s 46
6 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m22.425s +0.347s 47
7 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Racing 1m22.476s +0.398s 47
8 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m22.522s +0.444s 55
9 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m22.626s +0.548s 37
10 Braden Eves JHDD 1m22.777s +0.699s 51
11 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m22.856s +0.778s 55
12 Salvador De Alba JHDD 1m22.881s +0.803s 55
13 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m23.020s +0.942s 51
14 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m23.474s +1.396s 32
15 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m24.102s +2.024s 34
16 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing 1m25.004s +2.926s 54