Home Featured Red Bull’s Arvid Lindblad fastest in first ever F4 test at Vallelunga

Red Bull’s Arvid Lindblad fastest in first ever F4 test at Vallelunga

by Ida Wood

Photo: Arvid Lindblad

Red Bull and Oliver Rowland protege Arvid Lindblad completed his first Fornula 4 test this week at Vallelunga, and set the pace in a first-generation car.

The British-Swede karter will make his single-seater debut with Van Amersfoort Racing later this year once he turns 15, and tested with the team on Thursday and Friday along with 37 runners from the Italian F4 championship.

They were split into two groups, one of 20 and the other of 18, and each had four sessions per day of running.

PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin topped the very first session, by almost half a second over team-mate Taylor Barnard, with Prema’s Rafael Camara in third. Camara also appeared in the second group through day one, and his extra track time meant he was fastest in their first session with the first sub-1m35s lap.

He repeated the feat in both group’s second session, improving to 1m34.751s but then never getting any better than that.

In session three for the first group he was fastest again, but down on his previous best, while team-mate Andrea Kimi Antonelli took over at the top of the second group.

Barnard beat Bedrin by 0.026 seconds in their final session of the day, with AS Motorsport’s Manuel Quondamcarlo a surprise third but showing pace he would actually build on through the rest of the test. Thursday ended with Lindblad coming to the fore, setting a 1m34.574s to head the lead trio from both Prema and US Racing, all in second-generation cars. Incredibly the top 15 were within a second of each other, with Lindblad fastest by 0.180s over Antonelli.

Friday began with James Wharton edging Prema team-mate Charlie Wurz by 0.033s and Antonelli by 0.053s in a super-close top 16, while Bedrin was seven tenths clear of Quondamcarlo in the other group.

Bedrin was the driver to beat in the next session too, while Lindblad went fastest again. That almost continued into the afternoon for both, as Quondamcarlo bettered Bedrin by 0.047s in session seven, but in the final running it all came good as Bedrin beat Quondamcarlo and Lindblad reclaimed the overall top spot from Wharton and was half a second faster than anyone else in-session.

“First time in an F4 and I loved it,” Lindblad said. “Pace was good and I learned a lot. Can’t wait until next time. Big thanks to Oliver Rowland for all the help and support, to my team VAR and my engineer Alejandro.”

US’s Kacper Sztuka was ninth overall despite setting his fastest lap on Thursday, while the vast majority peaked in the early Friday morning conditions.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.372s 176
2 James Wharton Prema 1m34.459s +0.087s 166
3 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m34.473s +0.101s 165
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m34.492s +0.120s 175
5 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m34.701s +0.329s 156
6 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m34.724s +0.352s 171
7 Rafael Camara Prema 1m34.751s +0.379s 75
8 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m34.880s +0.508s 174
9 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m34.922s +0.550s 165
10 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m34.936s +0.564s 168
11 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 1m35.009s +0.637s 126
12 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m35.037s +0.665s 185
13 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m35.091s +0.719s 151
14 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m35.106s +0.734s 180
15 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.136s +0.764s 185
16 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m35.156s +0.784s 186
17 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m35.166s +0.794s 181
18 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m35.168s +0.796s 172
19 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.174s +0.802s 189
20 Pedro Clerot AKM Motorsport 1m35.222s +0.850s 174
21 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m35.276s +0.904s 169
22 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.287s +0.915s 190
23 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m35.468s +1.096s 186
24 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.536s +1.164s 123
25 Marcos Flack R-ace GP 1m35.541s +1.169s 158
26 Ugo Ugochukwu R-ace GP 1m35.564s +1.192s 162
27 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m35.578s +1.206s 150
28 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.637s +1.265s 149
29 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m35.785s +1.413s 122
30 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.826s +1.454s 144
31 Noah Stromsted R-ace GP 1m35.832s +1.460s 140
32 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m35.995s +1.623s 150
33 #54 Sol Maffi Racing 1m36.086s +1.714s 127
34 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.182s +1.810s 161
35 Isaac Barashi Cram Motorsport 1m36.768s +2.396s 164
36 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev AKM Motorsport 1m37.110s +2.738s 159
37 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m37.668s +3.296s 155
38 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m38.115s +3.743s 69