Home Formula 4Italian F4 Red Bull junior Edgar wins wet Italian F4 race two at Imola

Red Bull junior Edgar wins wet Italian F4 race two at Imola

by Josh Suttill

Photo: ACI Sport

Red Bull junior Jonny Edgar dominated proceedings in a rain-hit second race of the Italian Formula 4 weekend at Imola.

Rain began to fall on the formation lap of the initial start, leading to half the field – including Van Amersfoort Racing’s front row starters Edgar and Jak Crawford – pitting to change to wet tyres.

However, the race start was then aborted and initially the drivers who pitted were told to start from the pitlane. This decision was then reversed and the drivers lined up on the grid in their original positions.

After further rain delays, the race was finally started behind the safety car. The field ran behind it for 17 minutes, before a rolling start finally got green flag running underway.

It didn’t take long for the race to go back under safety car conditions when Sauber junior Dexter Patterson slipped into the gravel.

Another safety car period was required at the end of the race following a collision between Abu Dhabi Racing’s Hamda Al Qubaisi and new VAR signing Bence Válint.

Edgar dominated the brief amount of green flag running, leading his team-mate Crawford and Cram Motorsport’s Motorsport Games gold medallist Andrea Rosso.

The safety car came in the penultimate lap of the race, leaving a one-lap shootout which the Prema drivers used to fight over fourth place.

Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic emerged victorious ahead of his team-mate Gabriele Mini and race one victor and points leader Filip Ugran (Jenzer Motorsport), who charged from outside the top 10 to sixth place.

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto came seventh, ahead of Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio and BVM Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti.

The final point went the way of title contender Francesco Pizzi, who has so far failed to match his triple-podium form from the Misano season opener.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 11 laps
2 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +0.686s
3 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +1.985s
4 Dino Beganovic Prema +4.570s
5 Grabiele Mini Prema +5.195s
6 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +5.773s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +5.819s
8 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +6.111s
9 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +6.196s
10 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +6.801s
11 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +7.385s
12 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +8.199s
13 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +8.282s
14 Sebastian Montoya Prema +9.018s
15 Piotr Wiśnicki Jenzer Motorsport +10.621s
16 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport +10.822s
17 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +11.393s
18 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +12.121s
19 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech +15.834s
20 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +16.418s
21 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing + 1 lap
Ret Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing
Ret Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Dexter Patterson Bhaitech
Fastest lap: Edgar, 2m01.224s

Championship Standings
Ugran 78   2 Mini 69   3 Pizzi 65   Rosso 52   Beganovic 49   Edgar 43   7 Crawford 33   8 Montoya 24   9 Delli Guanti 24   10 Bortoleto 20