Home News Rasmussen notches up another Indy Pro 2000 win in rookie season

Rasmussen notches up another Indy Pro 2000 win in rookie season

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Christian Rasmussen led from start to finish in Indy Pro 2000’s first race at Mid-Ohio to extend his series points lead.

After making a good start from pole, Jay Howard Driver Development’s Rasmussen had to hold off Artem Petrov and Jacob Abel at the Keyhole hairpin and the next corner, before a caution petriod neutralised the action as Juncos Racing’s Manuel Sulaiman spun and stalled at turn four.

Rasmussen then raced away at the restart, while Petrov was freed in second as Abel fought off an attack from Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea.

A second attack allowed McElrea to get through, and as those two battled for the final podium spot it left the top two to streak away. After 25 laps, Rasmussen took his sixth win of the season by 0.9675 seconds ahead of Petrov.

McElrea held on to third until lap 22, when Abel’s constant pressure resulted in a mistake where he ran onto the grass but was able to recover the moment and only drop one spot to fourth.

Exclusive Autosport’s Braden Eves held off Juncos’s Reece Gold for fifth place, and remains in second place in the standings but now 34 points behind Rasmussen.

Race results (25 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Christian Rasmussen JHDD 34m04.5998s
2 Artem Petrov Exclusive Autosport +0.9675s
3 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +11.1979s
4 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing +13.7779s
5 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport +18.3795s
6 Reece Gold Pabst Racing +18.8830s
7 Kyffin Simpson Juncos Racing +19.2344s
8 James Roe Jr Turn 3 Motorsport +19.5353s
9 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +23.4731s
10 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD +26.5308s
11 Hunter Yeany Velocity Racing Development +30.4140s
12 Manuel Sulaiman Juncos Racing +1m07.7568s
Fastest lap: Rasmussen, 1m18.1058s

Championship standings
Rasmussen 289   2 Eves 255   3 Gold 235   4 Petrov 225   5 McElrea 200   6 Sulaiman 179   7 Abel 172   8 Simpson 154   9 Roe 117   10 Briachacek 116