Home News Rasmus Lindh keeps hold on Indy Pro 2000 points lead in Toronto

Rasmus Lindh keeps hold on Indy Pro 2000 points lead in Toronto

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Rasmus Lindh keeps hold of the Indy Pro 2000 championship lead leaving Toronto as Danial Frost and Kyle Kirkwood each earned a race win.

Two podium finishes for Juncos Racing’s Lindh – as well as the fastest lap in race two – was enough for him to maintain his gap at the top of the standings

Exclusive Autosport’s Frost managed to take the race one lead on the opening lap heading into Turn 1, after starting in third behind Kirkwood and Lindh. Frost was able to hold off Lindh and Parker Thompson in between the two cautions periods to take his second win of the season.

Kirkwood enjoyed a lights-to-flag race victory on Sunday having started from pole position, finishing over 1.5 seconds ahead of Thompson in second place.

The RP Motorsport driver was the first casualty in Saturday’s race after a collision with team-mate Ian Rodriguez on lap two of 25 left him having to pit for a new front wing, resulting in him going a lap down. He was however able to finish in eighth.

The podium for the second race was completed by Thompson and Lindh. IP2000 Thompson stays second in the standings, although only five points now separate him, Kirkwood and Frost.

Frost made the biggest gain in championship points, as alongside his race win he also finished fourth in race two after being briefly passed by Sting Ray Robb.

Robb finished the second race in fifth, but was one of the casualties in race one after he damaged his car going wide whilr battling with team-mate Lindh.

Rodriguez was sent to the back of the grid in race one during the first caution period due to his collision with Kirkwood. However the Argentinian was able to make his way back up to finish fifth. He also secured sixth in race two.

Results round-up
Race 1 (25 laps)
1 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 35m17.2973s
2 Ramus Lindh Juncos Racing +0.4500s
3 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports +1.7381s
4 Antonio Serravalle?Pserra Racing/JHDD +3.0377s
5 Ian Rodriguez RP Motorsport +6.4480s
6 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +6.7097s
7 Kory Enders DEForce Racing +11.0195s
8 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing
Ret Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport
Pole: Kirkwood, 1m08.698s
Fastest lap: Rodriguez, 1m07.761s

Race 2 (30 laps)
1 Kirkwood 36m44.6445s
2 Thompson +1.7233s
3 Lindh +2.0484s
4 Frost +5.0984s
5 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing +7.0498s
6 Rodriguez +14.7363s
7 Abel +16.4116s
8 Lastochkin +26.8440s
9 Enders +41.4837s
10 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing +1 lap
P: Kirkwood, 1m07.380s
FL: Lindh, 1m07.021s

Championship standings
1?Lindh 235? ?2?Thompson 207? ?3?Kirkwood 204? ?4?Frost 202? ?5?Robb 173? ?6?Lastochkin 137???7?Denes 118? ?8?Enders 116??9?De la Vara 114? ?10?Abel 106