Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Raoul Hyman graduates to European F3 with West-Tec

Raoul Hyman graduates to European F3 with West-Tec

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: BRDC F4

Photo: BRDC F4

South African racer Raoul Hyman will make his Formula 3 debut in 2015.

Hyman, 18, will tackle the FIA European F3 series with Team West-Tec.

Having finished seventh in his debut year in BRDC F4 in 2013, Hyman became a regular frontrunner in the championship in his sophomore season.

With four wins and seven further podiums, he finished third in the standings behind Lanan duo George Russell and Arjun Maini, both of whom are also moving up to FIA F3.

“I believe the FIA F3 Championship is the next serious step towards Formula 1,” said Hyman. “It also makes perfect sense in light of the FIA?s new superlicence rules.”

“With a quality grid of 36 drivers, the racing is close and exciting, and perhaps why FIA F3 is regarded as one of the most competitive single-seater championships in the world.”

“I am really looking forward to the season ahead, eager to get my first run in the car. I am very pleased to have signed with Team West-Tec, and believe that they have the engineering depth, experience, and the passion, to help me challenge at the front.”

Team West-Tec, sixth in FIA F3’s 2014 standings, will field Hyman alongside ADAC Formel Masters graduate Fabian Schiller.

“We are really delighted to have signed Raoul,” says West-Tec boss John Miller. “I have been tracking him for a long time, and have been determined to have him with us. We now have a very competitive line up and I am looking forward to seeing Raoul up on the podium which I am sure he can achieve.”

Official 2015 FIA F3 European Championship entry list
Team Drivers
Prema Powerteam Jake Dennis, Lance Stroll, Brandon Maisano, Felix Rosenqvist
Carlin Gustavo Menezes, George Russell, Ryan Tveter,
Antonio Giovinazzi, Callum Ilott, Tatiana Calderon
Mucke Motorsport Michele Beretta, Mikkel Jensen, Santino Ferrucci,
Maximilian Gunther, Kang Ling
Van Amersfoort Racing Charles Leclerc, Alessio Lorandi, Arjun Maini
Double R Racing Nicholas Pohler, Matt Solomon
Signature Alexander Albon, Dorian Boccolacci
Motopark Sam MacLeod, Markus Pommer, Mahaveer Raghunathan,
Sergio Sette Camara, Nabil Jeffri
Team West-Tec Fabian Schiller, Raoul Hyman
Fortec Motorsports Pietro Fittipaldi, Matt Rao, Martin Cao, Peter Li
EuroInternational Marvin Kirchhofer, Nicolas Beer
ThreeBond with T-Sport Julio Moreno