Home Formula 4Italian F4 Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto claims first Italian F4 win at Mugello

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto claims first Italian F4 win at Mugello

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto beat points-leading team-mate Gabriele Mini in a straight fight at Mugello to earn his first Italian Formula 4 win.

The Brazilian had to run behind the safety car before he could make the most of pole position due to a wet track, and when racing began he had team-mates Mini and Dino Beganovic all over him.

Mini passed him within a lap with a expertly timed late lunge, while Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso closed onto the rear of Beganovic to make it a four-car lead group.

As soon as Beganovic became preoccupied with Rosso he slowly dropped away from the top two, and was passed by the weekend’s race one winner into the first corner on lap seven of 14.

Bortoleto reclaimed the lead from Mini a lap later when he slid wide at one of the hairpins, and they ended up pushing each other almost off track as they squabbled over the next lap.

This brought Rosso closer, and Mini was soon defending from him. Another wide moment meant Rosso got through on the penultimate lap, but a 10-second penalty for a driving infringement on the lap three ‘restart’ meant Rosso dropped to fourth, just a tenth behind the distant Beganovic.

Bortoleto crossed the line 1.383s ahead of Mini, who extends his points lead as main title rival Francesco Pizzi retired early on.

A race-long battle for fifth was won by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jonny Edgar, who just held off Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran and BVM Racing’s Francesco Simonazzi.

Simonazzi led that battle early on, but lost handfuls of time to the top four while doing so. Series returnee Santiago Ramos then made it into fifth, before spinning down the order.

G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos was involved but dropped back to the next train of cars in battle, and ended up finishing eighth ahead of Pietro Delli Guanti (BVM), Sebastian Montoya (Prema) and Jak Crawford (VAR), who lost several spots on the final lap.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 33m38.426s
2 Gabriele Mini Prema +1.383s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema +5.056s
4 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +11.258s
5 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +24.870s
6 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +25.034s
7 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing +25.921s
8 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +33.380s
9 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +33.353s
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema +34.383s
11 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +34.388s
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +34.673s
13 Kirill Smal Prema +39.592s
14 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +44.029s
15 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport +48.531s
16 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +49.497s
17 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport +56.261s
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +56.412s
19 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +46.499s
20 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +1m00.095s
21 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +1m11.781s
22 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +1m13.884s
23 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +1m27.132s
24 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +1m29.022s
25 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +1m38.613s
26 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +2m00.104s
27 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech +5 laps
Ret Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Rosso, 2m08.345s

Championship Standings
1 Mini 171   2 Rosso 109   3 Pizzi 107   4 Edgar 107   5 Ugran 101   6 Beganovic 86   7 Crawford 85   8 Bortoleto 77   9 Joshua Duerksen 43   10 Montoya 39