Home Formula 2 Points leader Vesti leads Prema 1-2 in F2 practice at Barcelona

Points leader Vesti leads Prema 1-2 in F2 practice at Barcelona

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Prema

Frederick Vesti led a Prema one-two in Formula 2 practice around Barcelona’s new chicane-free layout. 

It was a relatively relaxed session at a track the F2 field has already visited for an in-season test this year, and laptimes only got down to 1m26.722s which was several seconds off what was achieved in testing.

Only four drivers set representative times in the first 20 minutes of practtice. Drivers were just beginning to start their flying laps when red flags were brought out with 24 minutes left on the clock.  

Victor Martins had taken to the grass after a slow-speed spin, and made contact with one of the advertising boards there. The incident was quickly cleared and the field headed back out for the final part of the session. 

MP Motorsport’s Jehan Daruvala was at the top of the times when the red flag was brought out, and would only drop to third by the chequered flag. 

Vesti and Ollie Bearman both went quicker than the MP Motorsport driver, with the championship leader just 0.126 seconds quicker than his team-mate. 

Dennis Hauger jumped up the order in the final moments to fourth place, just behind his team-mate Daruvala.

There were problems for Rodin Carlin’s Enzo Fittipaldi through most of practice. He spent the first half of the session with the pits as the team worked on the front of his car. But in the final four minutes of the session he set a lap good enough for fourth place. He was demoted to fifth, but ended practice just 0.472s off Vesti’s pace. 

Ayumu Iwasa was another late improver, placing sixth overall ahead of Theo Pourchaire and Jack Doohan. Richard Verschoor and Zane Maloney completed the top 10.  

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m26.722s 10
2 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m26.848s +0.126s 10
3 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m27.084s +0.362s 10
4 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m27.172s +0.450s 11
5 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m27.194s +0.472s 8
6 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m27.374s +0.652s 11
7 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m27.393s +0.671s 12
8 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m27.399s +0.677s 13
9 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.455s +0.733s 13
10 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m27.483s +0.761s 13
11 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m27.567s +0.845s 12
12 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m27.621s +0.899s 18
13 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m27.712s +0.990s 18
14 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.771s +1.049s 10
15 Roman Stanek Trident 1m27.807s +1.085s 12
16 Clement Novalak Trident 1m27.901s +1.179s 12
17 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m27.932s +1.210s 12
18 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m28.152s +1.430s 13
19 Brad Benavides PHM by Charouz 1m28.450s +1.728s 12
20 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m28.455s +1.733s 11
21 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1m28.477s +1.755s 19
22 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m58.572s +31.850s 3