Home Formula 4Italian F4 Pizzi tops Italian F4 times at Monza, Noam Abramczyk tests with BVM

Pizzi tops Italian F4 times at Monza, Noam Abramczyk tests with BVM

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Francesco Pizzi topped both of the afternoon sessions in Italian Formula 4’s in-season Monza test to end the day with a quarter-second advantage over the rest of the field.

The title-contending Italian was outshone by Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran in the morning, with the Romanian going fastest in the first two sessions of the day and by some margin.

He continued to improve in the afternoon, only just being bettered by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Pizzi in session three. Drivers lost the final few minutes of that session due to Prema driver Dino Beganovic getting his car stuck on track.

The majority of the 30-car grid improved in the grippier conditions after the lunch break, with Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli rising from 16th to fourth behind Pizzi, Ugran and Prema’s Sebastian Montoya.

Bhaitech struggled to find pace in the morning, with Jesse Salmenautio down in 26th after the first two sessions, but he found substantial gains to jump to 11th in session three.

Fornaroli was bumped down to fifth in the final session – interrupted by a red flag caused by Cram Motorsport’s Greek driver Georgios Markogiannis – as title rivals Pizzi and Gabriele Mini (Prema) upped the pace and the latter slotted into fourth.

The next quickest driver to improve at the last chance was VAR’s Bence Valint, who went from 19th up to seventh on the timesheet.

Propping up the order was BVM Racing’s test debutant Noam Abramczyk. The French teenager is competing in shifter karts this year, and raced in championships in karting’s junior categories in 2019.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.146s 70
2 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.401s +0.255s 70
3 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m53.463s +0.317s 69
4 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m53.472s +0.326s 64
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m53.618s +0.472s 70
6 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m53.668s +0.522s 67
7 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.775s +0.629s 70
8 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.778s +0.632s 68
9 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.781s +0.635s 70
10 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m54.019s +0.873s 63
11 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m54.170s +1.024s 65
12 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m54.223s +1.077s 73
13 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m54.225s +1.079s 65
14 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m54.237s +1.091s 65
15 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing 1m54.376s +1.230s 70
16 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport 1m54.456s +1.310s 74
17 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.589s +1.443s 75
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m54.692s +1.546s 75
19 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m54.713s +1.567s 67
20 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m54.755s +1.609s 66
21 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m54.984s +1.838s 76
22 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m54.997s +1.851s 73
23 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m55.001s +1.855s 70
24 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.014s +1.868s 64
25 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m55.044s +1.898s 69
26 Lorenzo Fluxa AKM Motorsport 1m55.083s +1.937s 70
27 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m55.200s +2.054s 67
28 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m55.382s +2.236s 70
29 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m55.629s +2.483s 58
30 Noam Abramczyk BVM Racing 1m56.871s +3.725s 72