Home Formula 3GB3 Ping profits from Kucharczyk and Voisin clash for second GB3 win

Ping profits from Kucharczyk and Voisin clash for second GB3 win

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Arden VRD’s Noah Ping triumphed in a dramatic second GB3 race at Snetterton in which several title contenders hit trouble and Alex Dunne gained the points lead.

Callum Voisin lined up from his third pole of the season, and the Rodin Carlin driver resisted a challenge into Riches from the fast-starting Tymek Kucharczyk to maintain the lead.

Ping moved into third ahead of Hitech GP’s Dunne, who was forced to defend from Saturday’s race one winner James Hedley on lap one.

Douglas Motorosport driver Kucharczyk applied pressure to Voisin during the opening four laps, with the pair pulling clear of Ping.

But on lap five, Kucharczyk dived to the inside of Voisin into Wilsons hairpin before making contact on the exit. Voisin spun and retired immediately with a broken rear-right suspension, while Kucharczyk dropped to third behind Ping and Dunne but avoided damage to his front-left suspension.

The safety car was deployed to retrieve Voisin’s car, with enough time for two more laps when racing resumed.

Ping immediately pulled clear of Dunne, who struggled for pace initially and faced pressure from Kucharczyk. Hedley then drew alongside Kucharczyk through Brundle and Nelson but could not make the move stick.

At the start of the final lap there was more drama in the title race, as JHR Developments’ Joseph Loake was challenged for sixth by Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell. As he tried to give Cresswell space, Loake slid wide and spun onto the grass, leaving him as the last of the finishers in 23rd.

Dunne closed in on Ping during the final lap, but it was Ping that prevailed by 0.355 seconds to give Arden it’s second win of the weekend, while second was enough for Dunne to move ahead of both Voisin and Loake in the championship standings. 

Kucharczyk finished third, but will likely face a post-race stewards investigation for his clash with Voisin.

Hedley was fourth ahead of JHR’s Matthew Rees and Cresswell. Carlin’s Costa Toparis recovered from a slow start to finish seventh ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s Zak Taylor.

Michael Shin prevailed in an early battle with Arden’s Nico Christodoulou to beat the Canadian to ninth. Elite’s Oliver Stewart retired after sustaining suspension damage on the opening lap.

Race result (10 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Noah Ping Arden VRD 20m28.293s
2 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +0.355s
3 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +0.987s
4 James Hedley Arden VRD +1.671s
5 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +2.226s
6 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +3.493s
7 Costa Toparis Carlin +4.204s
8 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +4.637s
9 Michael Shin Hitech GP +5.185s
10 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +6.050s
11 Souta Arao Hitech GP +6.338s
12 John Bennett Carlin +6.660s
13 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +7.312s
14 David Morales JHR Developments +7.907s
15 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +8.190s
16 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +9.038s
17 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +9.464s
18 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +10.733s
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +12.010s
20 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +12.461s
21 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport +13.343s
22 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +14.717s
23 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +18.623s
Ret Callum Voisin Carlin
Ret Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport
Fastest lap: Kucharczyk, 1m41.511s

Championship standings
1 Dunne 228   2 Voisin 218   3 Loake 213   4 Hedley 199   5 Kucharczyk 194   6 Cresswell 156   7 Rees 150   8 Bennett 124   9 Waberski 110   10 Ping 109