Home Formula 4French F4 Chovet holds off Nouet to take first French F4 victory in a year

Chovet holds off Nouet to take first French F4 victory in a year

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FFSA Academy

Pierre-Louis Chovet resisted race long pressure from Theo Nouet to take his first French Formula 4 victory in a year in the second Paul Ricard race.

Chovet lead from lights to flag but was chased throughout the 10-lap encounter by Dijon race winner Nouet, who ramped up the pressure in the closing stages of the race.

He weaved around the back of Chovet to try to force a mistake, but the leader didn?t put a foot wrong and crossed the line 0.796 seconds ahead, repeating his win from the very same race 12 months ago.

Most of the top 10 were involved in the fight for third at some stage but it was champion Caio Collet and Adam Eteki battling for the final podium position in the second half of the race. The pair ran side by side for almost an entire lap as Eteki tried to pass Collet. He eventually managed to squeeze through and was starting to join the lead battle when the chequered flag fell.

Reshad de Gerus won the Junior classification in fifth, ahead of race one winner Ugo de Wilde and Ulysse de Pauw.

Esteban Muth had been fighting at the front of the field early on before a wide moment dropped him back to 10th. He recovered to finish eighth ahead of Alessandro Ghiretti and Theo Pourchaire.

The fight for second in the standings behind Collet is extremely close going into the final race, with de Wilde now two points ahead of de Pauw, with Eteki and Arthur Leclerc 17 and 18 points behind respectively.


Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Pierre-Louis Chovet 22m45.721s
2 Theo Nouet +0.796s
3 Adam Eteki +1.057s
4 Caio Collet +1.934s
5 Reshad De Gerus +2.350s
6 Ugo de Wilde +2.848s
7 Ulysse de Pauw +6.038s
8 Esteban Muth +11.389s
9 Alessandro Ghiretti +13.035s
10 Theo Pourchaire +17.462s
11 Arthur Leclerc +18.933s
12 Gillian Henrion +19.032s
13 Evan Spenle +26.014s
14 Sacha Lehmann +26.915s
15 Baptiste Moulin +35.096s
16 Romain Boeckler +39.532s
17 Mateo Herrero +39.700s
18 Shihab Al Habsi +40.915s
19 Baptiste Berthelot +51.963s
Fastest lap: Eteki, 2m15.208s

Championship Standings
1?Collet 293.5? ?2 de Wilde 212? ?3 de?Pauw 210? ?4?Eteki 195? ?5?Leclerc 194? ?6 Chovet 152? ?7 Muth 137.5? ?8?Nouet 82? ?9?Stuwie White 80? ?10 Herrero 49

Junior Standings
1 Pourchaire 383.5? ?2 De Gerus 281? ?3 O’Neill Muth 243? ?4 Al Habsi 230.5